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AN ACT 

 

Amending Titles 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure), 44 (Law 

and Justice) and 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania 

Consolidated Statutes, consolidating the law relating to 

constables; in Title 42, further providing for deposits into 

the Judicial System Augmentation Account and providing for 

surcharges; in Title 44, repealing obsolete provisions on 

recidivism and revising provisions on second and third class 

cities, on boroughs, on townships, on the Constables' 

Education and Training Board, on use of firearms, on the 

Constables' Education and Training Account and on statutory 

authority; making editorial changes; and making related 

repeals. 

 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 

hereby enacts as follows: 

 

Section 1.  Subchapter C of Chapter 29 of Title 42 of the 

Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is repealed: 

[SUBCHAPTER C 

CONSTABLES 

2941.  Definitions. 

2942.  Conduct and insurance. 

2943.  Board established. 

2944.  Program established. 

2945.  Program contents. 

2946.  Continuing education. 

2947.  Automatic certification. 

2948.  Use of firearms. 

2949.  Restricted account. 

2950.  Fees. 

§ 2941.  Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter 

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Account."  The Constables' Education and Training Account 

established in section 2949 (relating to restricted account). 

"Board."  The Constables' Education and Training Board 

established in section 2943 (relating to board established). 

"Commission."  The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and 

Delinquency of the Commonwealth. 

"Court."  The minor judiciary or any other court in this 

Commonwealth. 

"Judicial duties."  Those services specified in section 2950 



(relating to fees). 

"Term of office of a deputy constable."  The term of office 

of the constable who appointed him. 

§ 2942.  Conduct and insurance. 

(a)  Certification.--After the establishment, implementation 

and administration of the Constables' Education and Training 

Program created under sections 2944 (relating to program 

established) and 2945 (relating to program contents), no 

constable or deputy constable shall perform any judicial duties 

nor demand or receive any fee, surcharge or mileage provided by 

this subchapter unless he has been certified under this 

subchapter. 

(b)  Liability insurance.--Every constable and deputy 

constable must file with the clerk of courts proof that he has, 

currently in force, a policy of professional liability insurance 

covering each individual in the performance of his judicial 

duties with a minimum coverage of $250,000 per incident and a 

minimum aggregate of $500,000 per year. However, no constable or 

deputy constable shall be required to file such proof until six 

months after the effective date of this act. The Constables' 

Education and Training Board shall immediately investigate and 

implement the most cost-effective method of achieving liability 

insurance for constables and deputy constables under this 

subsection. 

(c)  Loss of certification.--Any constable or deputy 

constable who fails, neglects or refuses to maintain a current 

insurance policy as required by subsection (b) or to file proof 

thereof with the clerk of courts shall cease automatically to be 

certified to perform judicial duties upon the expiration of the 

policy of which proof has been filed with the clerk of courts. 

(d)  Recertification.--Any constable or deputy constable who 

ceases to be certified to perform judicial duties as a result of 

the operation of subsection (c) may later be recertified 

immediately by filing with the clerk of courts proof that such 

insurance has been in force continuously since the officer was 

last certified to perform judicial duties. In the case of a 

violation of subsection (c), the individual may be recertified 

by complying with subsection (b). 

(e)  Limitations on liability.--The provisions of this 

subchapter shall not be deemed to impose respondeat superior 

liability on any county. 

(f)  Conduct.--While a constable or deputy constable is 

performing duties other than judicial duties, regardless of 

whether or not he is certified under this subchapter, he shall 

not in any manner hold himself out to be active as an agent, 

employee or representative of any court, magisterial district 

judge or judge. 

§ 2943.  Board established. 

(a)  Board created.--There is hereby established within the 

commission an advisory board to be known as the Constables' 

Education and Training Board. 

(b)  Composition.--The board shall be composed of the 

Pennsylvania State Police Commissioner or his designee and six 

other members appointed by the Governor with the consent of a 



majority of the members of the Senate: 

(1)  Three persons who shall be constables. 

(2)  One person who shall be a magisterial district 

judge. 

(3)  One person who shall be a court administrator. 

(4)  One person who shall be a county commissioner. 

(c)  Appointments and terms.--Members shall serve for three-

year terms and may be appointed for more than one additional 

consecutive term. If a member who serves by virtue of public 

office ceases to represent the class to which he was appointed, 

his membership in the commission shall terminate immediately, 

and a new member shall be appointed in the same manner as his 

predecessor to fill the unexpired portion of the term. No 

constable may be appointed, be reappointed or serve as a board 

member unless he is certified under this subchapter. 

(d)  Vacancy.--A member appointed to fill a vacancy created 

by any reason other than expiration of a term shall be appointed 

for the unexpired term of the member whom he is to succeed in 

the same manner as the original appointment. 

(e)  Expenses.--The members of the board shall serve without 

compensation but shall be reimbursed the necessary and actual 

expenses incurred in attending meetings of the board and in the 

performance of their duties under this subchapter. 

(f)  Removal.--Members of the board may be removed by the 

appointing authority for good cause upon written notice from the 

appointing authority specifically setting forth the cause for 

removal. 

(g)  Chairman elected.--The members of the board shall elect 

a chairman from among the members to serve for a period of one 

year. A chairman may be elected to serve successive terms. The 

Governor shall designate the first chairman for organizational 

purposes only. 

(h)  Meetings.--The chairman shall summon the members of the 

board to the first meeting within 30 days after his appointment 

or within 30 days after the appointment of a sufficient number 

of members to constitute a quorum, whichever is later. The board 

shall meet as often as it deems necessary but at least four 

times each year. Meetings may be called by the chairman of the 

board or by any four members thereof, in either case upon at 

least ten days' written notice to all members of the board. A 

quorum shall consist of four members. 

§ 2944.  Program established. 

The board, with the review and approval of the commission, 

shall: 

(1)  Establish, implement and administer the Constables' 

Education and Training Program according to the minimum 

requirements set forth in this subchapter. 

(2)  Establish, implement and administer requirements for 

the minimum courses of study and training for constables and 

deputy constables. 

(3)  Establish, implement and administer requirements for 

courses of study and in-service training for constables and 

deputy constables. 

(4)  Establish, implement and administer requirements for 



a continuing education program for constables and deputy 

constables concerning subjects the board may deem necessary 

and appropriate for the continued education and training of 

constables and deputy constables. 

(5)  Approve or revoke the approval of any school which 

may be utilized for the educational and training requirements 

of this subchapter. 

(6)  Establish the minimum qualifications for instructors 

and certify instructors. 

(7)  Consult, cooperate and contract with universities, 

colleges, law schools, community colleges and institutes for 

the development of basic and continuing education courses for 

constables and deputy constables. 

(8)  Promote the most efficient and economical program 

for constable and deputy constable training by utilizing 

existing facilities, programs and qualified State and local 

personnel. 

(9)  Certify constables and deputy constables who have 

satisfactorily completed the basic and continuing education 

and training requirements of this subchapter and issue 

appropriate certificates to them. 

(10)  Make rules and regulations and perform other duties 

as may be reasonably necessary or appropriate to administer 

the education and training program for constables and deputy 

constables. 

(11)  In consultation with the Insurance Commissioner, 

monitor the price and availability of the liability insurance 

required by section 2942(b) (relating to conduct and 

insurance) and, if deemed necessary by the board, provide 

information and coordination to assure the availability and 

competitive pricing of such insurance. 

(12)  Make an annual report to the Governor and to the 

General Assembly concerning: 

(i)  The administration of the Constables' Education 

and Training Program. 

(ii)  The activities of the board. 

(iii)  The costs of the program. 

(iv)  Proposed changes, if any, in this subchapter. 

§ 2945.  Program contents. 

The Constables' Education and Training Program shall include 

training for a total of 80 hours, the content of which shall be 

determined by regulation. The training shall include instruction 

in the interpretation and application of the fees provided for 

in section 2950 (relating to fees). Any constable or deputy 

constable who is in office as of the effective date of this 

subchapter shall be afforded one and only one opportunity prior 

to the expiration of his current term to satisfactorily complete 

this program by examination without the necessity of class 

attendance. 

§ 2946.  Continuing education. 

The board, with the review and approval of the commission, 

shall establish a mandatory continuing education program for 

constables and deputy constables, which shall include no more 

than 40 hours per year, concerning subjects the board may deem 



necessary and appropriate for the continued education and 

training of constables and deputy constables. 

§ 2947.  Automatic certification. 

All constables and deputy constables who are in office as of 

the effective date of this subchapter shall be deemed to be 

certified under and in compliance with sections 2945 (relating 

to program contents) and 2946 (relating to continuing education) 

for the balance of their current term of office or until the 

constables and deputy constables have been provided an 

opportunity to complete the education and training in accordance 

with section 2945 or 2946, whichever is sooner. 

§ 2948.  Use of firearms. 

(a)  Standards.--The Constables' Education and Training 

Board, with the review and approval of the Pennsylvania 

Commission on Crime and Delinquency, shall establish standards 

for the certification or qualification of constables and deputy 

constables to carry or use firearms in the performance of any 

duties. 

(b)  Certification and qualification.--Until such time as the 

board establishes the standards pursuant to subsection (a), no 

constable or deputy constable shall carry or use a firearm in 

the performance of any duties unless he is currently certified 

or qualified in firearms under at least one of the following: 

(1)  The act of June 18, 1974 (P.L.359, No.120), referred 

to as the Municipal Police Education and Training Law. 

(2)  The act of October 10, 1974 (P.L.705, No.235), known 

as the Lethal Weapons Training Act. 

(3)  The act of February 9, 1984 (P.L.3, No.2), known as 

the Deputy Sheriffs' Education and Training Act. 

(c)  Availability.--In accordance with subsection (b), the 

firearms portion of the education and training under the listed 

laws shall be made available to constables and deputy 

constables. 

§ 2949.  Restricted account. 

(a)  Account established.--There is hereby established a 

special restricted account within the General Fund, which shall 

be known as the Constables' Education and Training Account, for 

the purposes of financing training program expenses, the costs 

of administering the program and all other costs associated with 

the activities of the board and the implementation of this 

subchapter and as provided under subsection (f). 

(b)  Surcharge.--There is hereby assessed as a cost in each 

case before a magisterial district judge a surcharge of $5 per 

docket number in each criminal case and $5 per named defendant 

in each civil case in which a constable or deputy constable 

performs a service provided in this subchapter, except that no 

county shall be required to pay this surcharge on behalf of any 

indigent or other defendant in a criminal case. 

(c)  Disposition of funds.--The surcharges collected under 

subsection (b), if collected by a constable or deputy constable 

shall be turned over within one week to the issuing authority. 

The issuing authority shall remit the same to the Department of 

Revenue for deposit into the account. 

(d)  Disbursements.--Disbursements from the account shall be 



made by the commission. 

(e)  Audit.--The Auditor General shall conduct an audit of 

the account as he may deem necessary or advisable from time to 

time, but not less than once every three years. 

(f)  Fund surplus.--If account moneys are sufficient to meet 

the expenses and costs under subsection (a), the commission may 

allocate any surplus funds in the account to assist constables 

and deputy constables with costs associated with attendance at 

continuing education programs under section 2946 (relating to 

continuing education). 

§ 2950.  Fees. 

(a)  Travel or mileage.--Actual mileage for travel by motor 

vehicle shall be reimbursed at a rate equal to the highest rate 

allowed by the Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other 

than motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be for actual vouchered 

travel expenses. 

(b)  Apportionment.--If more than one defendant is 

transported simultaneously, reimbursements shall be for actual 

miles traveled, and the travel cost shall be divided between or 

among the defendants. 

(c)  Additional persons.--A constable or deputy constable 

when he is transporting a prisoner, serving a felony or 

misdemeanor warrant or serving a warrant on a juvenile or a 

defendant of the opposite sex may, at his discretion, be 

accompanied by a second constable or deputy constable who is 

certified under section 2947 (relating to automatic 

certification) to perform judicial duties. In such cases, each 

officer shall receive the fee set out in this section. In all 

other civil, landlord-tenant and summary criminal cases, the 

issuing authority may authorize payment to a second officer. 

(d)  Civil and landlord-tenant cases.--In civil and landlord-

tenant cases, constable fees must be paid in advance to the 

court for services desired to be performed. These fees shall not 

be refundable to the plaintiff if a case is settled or a debt is 

satisfied less than 48 hours prior to a scheduled sale or 

ejectment, in which latter case the constable or deputy 

constable shall be paid for holding the sale or carrying out an 

ejectment, respectively. 

(e)  Payment.--All civil, landlord-tenant and criminal fees 

shall be paid by the court to the constable as soon as possible 

and in no case not more than 15 days in civil and landlord-

tenant cases and 30 days in criminal cases after the service is 

performed and a proper request for payment is submitted, 

provided that, in criminal cases where the books and accounts of 

the relevant county offices are payable on a monthly basis, 

payment shall be made not more than 15 days after the close of 

the month. 

(f)  Civil and landlord-tenant cases.--Fees in civil and 

landlord-tenant cases shall be as follows: 

(1)  For serving complaint, summons or notice on suitor 

or tenant, either personally or by leaving a copy, $13, plus 

$5 for each additional defendant at the same address, $2.50 

for each return of service, plus mileage. 

(2)  For levying goods, including schedule of property 



levied upon and set aside, notice of levy and return of 

service, $75, plus mileage. 

(3)  For advertising personal property for public sale, 

$7 per posting (maximum of $21), plus mileage, plus actual 

cost of advertising. 

(4)  For selling goods levied, clerk, receipts and 

returns to court, $85, plus mileage. 

(5)  For making return of not found, $13, plus mileage. 

Payment shall be limited to three returns of not found. 

(6)  For executing order of possession, $13, plus $5 for 

each additional defendant at the same address, $2.50 for each 

return of service, plus mileage. 

(7)  For ejectment, $90, $2.50 for each return of 

service, plus mileage. 

(8)  For making any return of service other than not 

found, $2.50 each. 

(9)  For providing courtroom security as ordered, $13 per 

hour, assessed against one or more parties as determined by 

the court. 

(10)  Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be 

reimbursed at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by 

the Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other than 

motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be for actual vouchered 

travel expenses. 

(g)  Criminal cases.--Fees in criminal cases shall be as 

follows: 

(1)  For executing each warrant of arrest, or for 

effectuating the payment of fines and costs by attempting to 

execute each warrant of arrest, $25 for each docket number 

and $2.50 for each return of service, plus mileage. 

(2)  For taking custody of a defendant, $5 per defendant. 

(3)  For conveyance of defendant to or from court, $5 per 

defendant. 

(4)  For attendance at arraignment or hearing, $13. 

(5)  For executing discharge, $5 per defendant. 

(6)  For executing commitment, $5 per defendant. 

(7)  For executing release, $5 per defendant. 

(8)  For making returns to the court, $2.50. 

(9)  Transporting each nonincarcerated defendant to jail, 

$17, plus mileage; transporting an incarcerated prisoner, $38 

per prisoner, plus an hourly rate of $13 per hour, plus 

mileage. Computation of hourly rate will apply after the 

expiration of the first hour per prisoner per hour, not to 

exceed $26 per hour per constable. 

(10)  Receipt of the fees for transporting a 

nonincarcerated defendant under paragraph (9) shall not 

exclude receipt of the fees under paragraphs (6) and (8) for 

that transport. 

(11)  Receipt of the fees for transporting an 

incarcerated prisoner under paragraph (9) shall exclude 

receipt of the fees under paragraphs (2), (3), (4) and (7) 

for that transport. 

(12)  Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be 

reimbursed at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by 



the Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other than 

motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be for actual vouchered 

travel expenses. 

(13)  For conveying defendants for fingerprinting, $17 

per defendant, plus $13 per hour beyond the first hour per 

defendant per hour, not to exceed $26 per hour per constable, 

plus mileage. 

(14)  For holding one or more defendants at the office of 

a magisterial district judge, $13 per hour per defendant 

beyond the first half hour. 

(15)  For courtroom security as ordered, $13 per hour, 

assessed against one or more parties as determined by the 

court. 

(16)  In all criminal cases wherein the defendant is 

discharged or indigent or the case is otherwise dismissed, 

the court shall assess to the county the fee provided in this 

section, except that in cases of private criminal complaints 

wherein the defendant is discharged prior to the indictment 

or the filing of any information or the case is otherwise 

dismissed at the summary offense hearing, the court shall 

assess the fee to the affiant. 

(h)  Subpoenas.--For serving district court-issued subpoenas 

for civil, landlord-tenant or criminal matters, $13 for first 

witness, plus $5 for each additional witness at the same 

address, $2.50 return of service for each subpoena, plus 

mileage. The same fee shall be payable for attempting to serve a 

subpoena at a wrong address supplied by the party requesting the 

service. 

(i)  Similar fees.--For civil, landlord-tenant and criminal 

services not specifically provided for, the court shall pay the 

same fees as it pays for services that it determines to be 

similar to those performed.] 

Section 1.1.  Section 3733(a.1)(1)(iii), (iv) and (v) of 

Title 42 are amended to read: 

§ 3733.  Deposits into account. 

* * * 

(a.1)  Additional fees.-- 

(1)  In addition to the court costs and filing fees 

authorized to be collected by statute: 

* * * 

(iii)  An additional fee of $10 shall be charged by 

the clerks of courts of all courts of common pleas, or by 

any officials designated to perform the functions 

thereof, for the initiation of any criminal proceeding 

for which a fee, charge or cost is now authorized and a 

conviction is obtained or guilty plea is entered. The 

additional fee under this subparagraph shall also be 

charged and collected when a defendant is granted entry 

into Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition or any other 

pretrial diversionary program. 

(iv)  An additional fee of $10 shall be charged and 

collected by the minor judiciary, including magisterial 

district judges, Philadelphia Municipal Court, 

Philadelphia Traffic Court and Pittsburgh [Magistrates] 



Municipal Court, for the initiation of a legal proceeding 

for which a fee or cost is now authorized, except that in 

criminal, summary and traffic matters the fee shall be 

charged only when a conviction is obtained or guilty plea 

is entered. The additional fee under this subparagraph 

shall also be charged and collected when a defendant is 

granted entry into Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition 

or any other pretrial diversionary program. 

(v)  An additional fee of $10 shall be charged and 

collected by the recorders of deeds and clerks of court, 

or by any officials designated to perform similar 

functions, for each filing of a deed, mortgage or 

property transfer for which a fee, charge or cost is now 

authorized. The Supreme Court shall designate by 

financial regulations which filings meet the criteria of 

this subparagraph. 

* * * 

Section 1.2.  Title 42 is amended by adding a section to 

read: 

§ 3733.1.  Surcharge. 

(a)  Imposition of surcharge.--In addition to each fee 

imposed under section 3733(a.1) (relating to deposits into 

account), except as set forth in subsection (b), the following 

apply: 

(1)  A surcharge of $11.25 shall be charged and collected 

for a period of 25 months beginning on the effective date of 

this section. 

(2)  A permanent fee of $2.25 shall be charged and 

collected. 

(b)  Exceptions.--Subsection (a) does not apply to a 

conviction or guilty plea based on the filing of a traffic 

citation charging an offense under 75 Pa.C.S. (relating to 

vehicles) which is classified as summary under a State statute 

or local ordinance as provided in the Pennsylvania Rules of 

Criminal Procedure. 

(c)  Allocation and appropriation.-- 

(1)  The surcharge under subsection (a)(1) shall be 

allocated as follows: 

(i)  One dollar shall be deposited into the Access to 

Justice Account. 

(ii)  The remainder of money shall be deposited into 

a separate reserve account within the Judicial Computer 

System Augmentation Account. Notwithstanding section 3732 

(relating to utilization of funds in account), money 

deposited under this subparagraph is hereby appropriated 

to the Supreme Court, upon compliance with Article XV of 

the act of April 9, 1929 (P.L.343, No.176), known as The 

Fiscal Code, for the operation of the Judicial 

Department. 

(2)  The fee under subsection (a)(2) shall be deposited 

into the Criminal Justice Enhancement Account. 

Section 1.3.  Chapter 53 of Title 44 is repealed: 

[CHAPTER 53 

RECIDIVISM RISK REDUCTION INCENTIVE 



Sec. 

5301.  Scope of chapter. 

5302.  Purpose. 

5303.  Definitions. 

5304.  Recidivism risk reduction incentive programs. 

5305.  Sentencing. 

5306.  Recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum. 

5307.  Authority of board. 

5308.  Written guidelines and regulations. 

5309.  Evaluation. 

5310.  Reports. 

5311.  Construction. 

5312.  Applicability. 

§ 5301.  Scope of chapter. 

This chapter relates to recidivism risk reduction incentive. 

§ 5302.  Purpose. 

This chapter seeks to create a program that ensures 

appropriate punishment for persons who commit crimes, encourages 

prisoner participation in evidence-based programs that reduce 

the risks of future crime and ensures the openness and 

accountability of the criminal justice process while ensuring 

fairness to crime victims. 

§ 5303.  Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Board."  The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole. 

"Commission."  The Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing. 

"Court."  The trial judge exercising sentencing jurisdiction 

over an eligible offender under this chapter or the president 

judge or the president judge's designee if the original trial 

judge is no longer serving as a judge of the sentencing court. 

"Defendant."  An individual charged with a criminal offense. 

"Department."  The Department of Corrections of the 

Commonwealth. 

"Eligible offender."  A defendant or prisoner convicted of a 

criminal offense who will be committed to the custody of the 

department and who meets all of the following eligibility 

requirements: 

(1)  Does not demonstrate a history of present or past 

violent behavior. 

(2)  Has not been subject to a sentence the calculation 

of which includes an enhancement for the use of a deadly 

weapon as defined under law or the sentencing guidelines 

promulgated by the Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing or 

the attorney for the Commonwealth has not demonstrated that 

the defendant has been found guilty of or was convicted of an 

offense involving a deadly weapon or offense under 18 Pa.C.S. 

Ch. 61 (relating to firearms and other dangerous articles) or 

the equivalent offense under the laws of the United States or 

one of its territories or possessions, another state, the 

District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a 

foreign nation. 

(3)  Has not been found guilty or previously convicted or 



adjudicated delinquent for or an attempt or conspiracy to 

commit a personal injury crime as defined under section 103 

of the act of November 24, 1998 (P.L.882, No.111), known as 

the Crime Victims Act, or an equivalent offense under the 

laws of the United States or one of its territories or 

possessions, another state, the District of Columbia, the 

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation. 

(4)  Has not been found guilty or previously convicted or 

adjudicated delinquent for violating any of the following 

provisions or an equivalent offense under the laws of the 

United States or one of its territories or possessions, 

another state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of 

Puerto Rico or a foreign nation: 

(i)  18 Pa.C.S. § 4302 (relating to incest). 

(ii)  18 Pa.C.S. § 5901 (relating to open lewdness). 

(iii)  18 Pa.C.S. § 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of 

children). 

(iv)  18 Pa.C.S. § 6318 (relating to unlawful contact 

with minor). 

(v)  18 Pa.C.S. § 6320 (relating to sexual 

exploitation of children). 

(vi)  18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 76 Subch. C (relating to 

Internet child pornography). 

(vii)  Received a criminal sentence pursuant to 42 

Pa.C.S. § 9712.1 (relating to sentences for certain drug 

offenses committed with firearms). 

(viii)  Any offense listed under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9795.1 

(relating to registration). 

(5)  Is not awaiting trial or sentencing for additional 

criminal charges, if a conviction or sentence on the 

additional charges would cause the defendant to become 

ineligible under this definition. 

(6)  Has not been found guilty or previously convicted of 

violating section 13(a)(14), (30) or (37) of the act of April 

14, 1972 (P.L.233, No.64), known as The Controlled Substance, 

Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, where the sentence was imposed 

pursuant to 18 Pa.C.S. § 7508(a)(1)(iii), (2)(iii), (3)(iii), 

(4)(iii), (7)(iii) or (8)(iii) (relating to drug trafficking 

sentencing and penalties). 

"Program plan."  An individualized plan recommended by the 

Department of Corrections that contains approved treatment and 

other approved programs designed to reduce recidivism risk of a 

specific prisoner. 

§ 5304.  Recidivism risk reduction incentive programs. 

(a)  Authorization.--Subject to the provisions of this 

chapter, the department is authorized to create or otherwise 

designate treatment or other programs as recidivism risk 

reduction incentive programs. 

(b)  Intent.--This chapter is intended to encourage eligible 

offenders committed to the custody of the department to 

participate in and successfully complete evidence-based programs 

under this chapter that reduce the likelihood of recidivism and 

improve public safety. 

(c)  Program requirements.--In accordance with the provisions 



of this chapter, the department may designate a treatment 

program or other program as a recidivism risk reduction 

incentive program if there is appropriate scientific research 

that demonstrates that the proposed program would likely reduce 

overall recidivism rates or serious crime rates of program 

participants. A recidivism risk reduction incentive program 

designed to provide treatment in the form of a therapeutic 

community for drug abuse or addiction shall meet the 

requirements of an institutional therapeutic community as 

defined under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9903 (relating to definitions). 

(d)  Consultation.--The department shall consult with 

appropriate research and technical assistance organizations, 

such as the National Institute of Justice, the National 

Institute of Corrections and the American Correctional 

Association, concerning evidence-based programs that reduce 

recidivism risks of prisoners and the scientific research 

relating to those programs. 

(e)  Program approval process.-- 

(1)  The department shall publish, in a manner reasonably 

calculated to inform, a detailed description of the program, 

the types of offenders who will be eligible to participate in 

the program, the name and citation of research reports that 

demonstrate the effectiveness of the proposed program and the 

name and address of a department contact person responsible 

for receiving public comments. On the same date as 

publication, the department shall also deliver a copy of the 

list to the Judiciary Committee of the Senate, the Judiciary 

Committee of the House of Representatives, the board, the 

commission and the victim advocate. 

(2)  Upon consideration of the public comments and the 

expiration of at least 60 days from the date of publication 

required under paragraph (1), the department may designate 

any program published as approved for inclusion in the 

recidivism risk reduction incentive program. 

§ 5305.  Sentencing. 

(a)  Generally.--At the time of sentencing, the court shall 

make a determination whether the defendant is an eligible 

offender. 

(b)  Waiver of eligibility requirements.--The prosecuting 

attorney, in the prosecuting attorney's sole discretion, may 

advise the court that the Commonwealth has elected to waive the 

eligibility requirements of this chapter if the victim has been 

given notice of the prosecuting attorney's intent to waive the 

eligibility requirements and an opportunity to be heard on the 

issue. The court, after considering victim input, may refuse to 

accept the prosecuting attorney's waiver of the eligibility 

requirements. 

(c)  Recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum 

sentence.--If the court determines that the defendant is an 

eligible offender or the prosecuting attorney has waived the 

eligibility requirements under subsection (b), the court shall 

enter a sentencing order that does all of the following: 

(1)  Imposes the minimum and maximum sentences as 

required under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9752 (relating to sentencing 



proceeding generally). 

(2)  Imposes the recidivism risk reduction incentive 

minimum sentence. The recidivism risk reduction incentive 

minimum shall be equal to three-fourths of the minimum 

sentence imposed when the minimum sentence is three years or 

less. The recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum shall 

be equal to five-sixths of the minimum sentence if the 

minimum sentence is greater than three years. For purposes of 

these calculations, partial days shall be rounded to the 

nearest whole day. In determining the recidivism risk 

reduction incentive minimum sentence, the aggregation 

provisions of 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 9757 (relating to consecutive 

sentences of total confinement for multiple offenses) and 

9762(d) (relating to sentencing proceeding; place of 

confinement) shall apply. 

(3)  Notwithstanding paragraph (2), if the defendant was 

previously sentenced to two or more recidivism risk reduction 

incentive minimum sentences, the court shall have the 

discretion, with the approval of the prosecuting attorney, to 

impose the recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum 

sentence as provided for in paragraph (2). 

(4)  Complies with all other applicable sentencing 

provisions, including provisions relating to victim 

notification and the opportunity to be heard. 

§ 5306.  Recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum. 

(a)  Generally.--The board or its designee shall issue a 

decision to parole, without further review by the board, a 

prisoner who has been sentenced to a recidivism risk reduction 

incentive minimum sentence at the expiration of that recidivism 

risk reduction incentive minimum sentence upon a determination 

that all of the following apply: 

(1)  The department certified that it has conducted an 

appropriate assessment of the treatment needs and risks of 

the prisoner using nationally recognized assessment tools 

that have been normed and validated. 

(2)  The department has certified that it developed a 

program plan based on the assessment conducted under 

paragraph (1) that is designed to reduce the risk of 

recidivism through the use of recidivism risk reduction 

incentive programs authorized and approved under this chapter 

that are appropriate for that particular prisoner. 

(3)  The department advised the prisoner that the 

prisoner is required to successfully complete the program 

plan. 

(4)  The prisoner has successfully completed all required 

recidivism risk reduction incentive programs or other 

programs designated in the program plan. 

(5)  The prisoner has maintained a good conduct record 

following the imposition of the recidivism risk reduction 

incentive minimum sentence. 

(6)  The reentry plan for the prisoner is adequate. 

(7)  Individual conditions and requirements for parole 

have been established. 

(8)  Notice and opportunity to be heard was provided by 



the board to the sentencing court and the prosecuting 

attorney in a manner consistent with section 21(b.2) of the 

act of August 6, 1941 (P.L.861, No.323), referred to as the 

Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole Law. 

(9)  The department has certified that the prisoner 

continues to be an eligible offender. In the event that a 

recidivism risk reduction minimum sentence was imposed under 

section 5305(b) (relating to sentencing), the department 

certifies that it has not received additional information 

demonstrating a history of past or present violent behavior 

which was not available at the time of sentencing and the 

prosecuting attorney was unaware of that information at the 

time of sentencing. 

(10)  There is no reasonable indication that the prisoner 

poses a risk to public safety. 

(b)  Funding.--The department shall make all reasonable 

efforts to seek appropriate funding and resources in order to 

implement the recidivism risk reduction program. 

(c)  Program content.--Nothing in this section shall do any 

of the following: 

(1)  Require the department to include recidivism risk 

reduction programs in an individual program plan where the 

risk assessment indicates that such a program is unlikely to 

reduce recidivism for that particular prisoner. 

(2)  Prohibit the department from including appropriate 

community works or public service projects as part of the 

program plan. 

(3)  Prohibit the department from making modifications to 

the program plan at any time in order to ensure appropriate 

treatment and recidivism risk reduction incentive program 

placement. 

(d)  Adjudication.--Nothing in this section shall be 

interpreted as granting a right to be paroled to any person, and 

any decision by the board and its designees or the department, 

under this section, shall not be considered an adjudication 

under 2 Pa.C.S. Ch. 5 Subch. A (relating to practice and 

procedure of Commonwealth agencies) and Ch. 7 Subch. A (relating 

to judicial review of Commonwealth agency action). 

§ 5307.  Authority of board. 

If a prisoner has been sentenced by a court to a recidivism 

risk reduction incentive minimum sentence and the prisoner is 

not paroled under this chapter, the board shall have exclusive 

authority to grant parole. Except as otherwise provided under 

this chapter, the board shall retain its power and authority to 

parole, commit and reparole prisoners committed to the 

department. 

§ 5308.  Written guidelines and regulations. 

The department, upon consultation with the board, shall 

develop written interim guidelines to assist in the 

implementation of the provisions of this chapter. The interim 

guidelines shall not be subject to the requirements of the act 

of June 25, 1982 (P.L.633, No.181), known as the Regulatory 

Review Act, and shall be effective for a period of two years 

after publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The interim 



guidelines shall be replaced by regulations promulgated by the 

department consistent with the Regulatory Review Act on or 

before the date of expiration of the interim guidelines. 

§ 5309.  Evaluation. 

The department, the board and the commission shall monitor 

and evaluate the recidivism risk reduction incentive programs. 

Evaluations under this section should be scientifically rigorous 

and seek to determine the effectiveness of the programs, 

including whether specific recidivism risk reduction incentive 

programs have reduced the recidivism rates of the program 

participants as compared to previously incarcerated and 

similarly situated prisoners. The department, the board and the 

commission shall make evaluations conducted under this section 

and underlying data available to the public. The publicly 

available data and evaluations shall comply with generally 

accepted practices of the research community, including 

expectations relating to subject privacy and identifying 

information. 

§ 5310.  Reports. 

(a)  Recidivism risk reduction.--The department, the board 

and the commission shall monitor and evaluate the recidivism 

risk reduction incentive programs to ensure that the goals and 

objectives of this chapter are met. Reports to the General 

Assembly shall be as follows: 

(1)  In odd-numbered years, the department shall present 

a report of its evaluation to the Judiciary Committee of the 

Senate and the Judiciary Committee of the House of 

Representatives no later than February 1. The report shall 

include all of the following: 

(i)  The number of offenders determined by the 

department to be eligible offenders under this chapter 

and the offenses for which the offenders were committed 

to the custody of the department. 

(ii)  The number of prisoners committed to the 

custody of the department who were subject to a 

recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum sentence. 

(iii)  The number of prisoners paroled at the 

recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum date. 

(iv)  Any potential changes that would make the 

program more effective. 

(v)  The six-month, one-year, three-year and five-

year recidivism rates for prisoners released at the 

recidivism risk reduction incentive minimum sentence. 

(vi)  Any other information the department deems 

relevant. 

(2)  In even-numbered years, the commission shall present 

a report of its evaluation to the Judiciary Committee of the 

Senate and the Judiciary Committee of the House of 

Representatives no later than February 1. The report shall 

include all of the following: 

(i)  Whether the goals of this chapter could be 

achieved through amendments to parole or sentencing 

guidelines. 

(ii)  The various options for parole or sentencing 



guidelines under subparagraph (i). 

(iii)  The status of any proposed or implemented 

guidelines designed to implement the provisions of this 

chapter. 

(iv)  Any potential changes to the program that would 

be likely to reduce the risk of recidivism of prisoners 

and improve public safety. 

(v)  Any other information the commission deems 

relevant. 

(b)  Educational plan.--The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime 

and Delinquency shall publish a report of a proposed educational 

program plan within one year of the effective date of this 

section. The proposed educational program plan shall be 

developed in consultation with the department, commission, 

board, the Pennsylvania District Attorneys Association, the 

victim advocate and representatives of the judiciary and the 

criminal defense bar and other criminal justice stakeholders. 

The plan shall seek to provide cost-effective training or 

information through electronic means, publications or continuing 

educational programs that address the following topics: 

(1)  The treatment programs available through the board 

and the department. 

(2)  The availability of programs and eligibility 

requirements that can reduce recidivism risk, including State 

intermediate punishment, the motivational boot camp and 

recidivism risk reduction incentives programs. 

(3)  The calculation of sentencing credit and practices 

that could inadvertently prevent an inmate from receiving 

sentence credit. 

(4)  Recent statutory changes relating to sentencing, 

place of confinement, medical releases, transfer of inmates 

and parole. 

§ 5311.  Construction. 

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, this chapter 

shall not be construed to do any of the following: 

(1)  Confer any legal right upon any individual, 

including an individual participating in or seeking to 

participate in a recidivism risk reduction incentive program, 

to do any of the following: 

(i)  Participate in a recidivism risk reduction 

incentive program. 

(ii)  Continue participation in a recidivism risk 

reduction incentive program. 

(iii)  Modify the contents of the recidivism risk 

reduction incentive program. 

(iv)  File any cause of action in any Federal or 

State court challenging the department's determination 

that a participant be suspended or expelled from or that 

a participant has successfully completed or failed to 

successfully complete any recidivism risk reduction 

incentive program. 

(2)  Confer any legal right on any individual to be 

released on parole under this act. 

(3)  Enlarge or limit the right of a participant to 



appeal the participant's sentence. 

§ 5312.  Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to persons incarcerated under the 

supervision of the department.] 

Section 2.  Title 44 is amended by adding a part to read: 

PART IV 

OTHER OFFICERS 

Chapter 

71.  Constables 

CHAPTER 71 

CONSTABLES 

Subchapter 

A.  Preliminary Provisions 

B.  Election 

C.  Appointment 

D.  Conflicts 

E.  Training 

F.  Powers and Duties 

G.  Compensation 

H.  Penalties and Remedies 

SUBCHAPTER A 

PRELIMINARY PROVISIONS 

Sec. 

7101.  Scope of chapter. 

7102.  Definitions. 

7103.  Cities of the first class. 

§ 7101.  Scope of chapter. 

This chapter relates to constables. 

§ 7102.  Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Livestock."  Cattle, horses, sheep, goats and swine of every 

age and sex. 

§ 7103.  Cities of the first class. 

As of February 10, 1970, the office of constable is abolished 

in cities of the first class, and the terms of office of 

incumbents are terminated. 

SUBCHAPTER B 

ELECTION 

Sec. 

7111.  Term of office. 

7112.  Cities of the second and third classes. 

7113.  Boroughs. 

7114.  Townships. 

§ 7111.  Term of office. 

The term of a constable in a city of the second class, city 

of the second class A, city of the third class, borough, 

incorporated town or township is six years. 

§ 7112.  Cities of the second and third classes. 

The qualified voters of each ward in a city of the second or 

third class shall elect a properly qualified person for 

constable in each ward. 

§ 7113.  Boroughs. 



(a)  General rule.--Except as provided in subsection (b), the 

qualified voters of every borough shall vote for and elect a 

properly qualified person for constable. 

(b)  Boroughs divided into wards.--The qualified voters of 

every borough divided into wards shall vote for and elect a 

properly qualified person for constable in each ward and a 

properly constable for high constable in the borough. 

§ 7114.  Townships. 

(a)  Election.--The following shall apply: 

(1)  The qualified voters of every township shall vote 

for and elect a properly qualified person for constable. 

(2)   The qualified electors of each township of the 

first class may vote for and elect a properly qualified 

person to serve as constable, in addition to the constable 

elected under paragraph (1). 

(b)  Procedure upon election; penalty.--Every person elected 

to the office of constable in a township shall appear in court 

on the first day of the next court of common pleas of the same 

county to accept or decline the office. A person who neglects or 

refuses to appear, after having been duly notified of the 

election, shall forfeit to the township the sum of $40 to be 

levied by order of the court. 

(c)  Bond.--The bond given by a constable in a township shall 

be in a sum not less than $500 nor more than $3,000, as the 

court shall direct, and shall be taken by the clerk of the court 

in the name of the Commonwealth, with conditions for just and 

faithful discharge by the constable of the duties of office. The 

bond shall be held in trust for the use and benefit of persons 

who may sustain injury by reason of neglect of duty, and for the 

same purposes and uses as a sheriff's bond. 

SUBCHAPTER C 

APPOINTMENT 

Sec. 

7121.  Constables. 

7122.  Deputy constables. 

§ 7121.  Constables. 

When a vacancy occurs in the office of constable, regardless 

of the reason for the vacancy, the court of common pleas of the 

county of the vacancy, upon petition of not less than ten 

qualified electors residing in the borough, city, ward or 

township of the vacancy, shall appoint a suitable person, who, 

upon being qualified as required by law, shall serve as the 

constable for the unexpired term of the vacancy. 

§ 7122.  Deputy constables. 

(a)  General rule.--Sole power to appoint deputy constables 

in a ward, borough or township is vested in the constable of the 

ward, borough or township, subject to approval of the court of 

common pleas under subsection (b). No person shall be appointed 

as a deputy constable unless, at the time of appointment, he is 

a bona fide resident of the ward, borough or township for which 

he is appointed and he continues to be a bona fide resident for 

the duration of the appointment. 

(b)  Court approval and qualifications.-- 

(1)  Except as set forth in paragraph (2), no deputy 



shall be appointed, either by general or partial 

deputization, without approbation of the court of common 

pleas of the county, except for special appointments in a 

civil suit or proceeding, at the request and risk of the 

plaintiff or his agent. If a deputy no longer resides in, or 

ceases to be a qualified elector of, the ward in which he was 

appointed to serve, the court of common pleas may revoke the 

appointment of the deputy upon petition of five duly 

qualified electors of the ward and proof of facts requiring 

revocation. 

(2)  In the event of a deputy's death or inability or 

refusal to act, the constable of a township may, with 

approbation of the court of common pleas of the county where 

the deputy served, appoint another deputy who shall have full 

authority to act until the next regular session of court. The 

constable and his surety shall be liable for acts of the 

deputy as in other cases. The constable shall file a written 

copy of the deputization in the office of the clerk of courts 

of the county where the constable serves. 

(c)  Certain provisions relating to boroughs 

unaffected.--This section does not affect the provisions of 

section 14 of the act of June 28, 1923 (P.L.903, No.348), 

entitled "A supplement to an act, approved the fourteenth day of 

May, one thousand nine hundred and fifteen (Pamphlet Laws, three 

hundred and twelve), entitled 'An act providing a system for 

government of boroughs, and revising, amending, and 

consolidating the law relating to boroughs'; so as to provide a 

system of government where a borough now has annexed or 

hereafter shall annex land in an adjoining county, including 

assessment of property, levying and collection of taxes, making 

municipal improvements, and filing and collecting of liens for 

the same; the jurisdiction of courts for the enforcement of 

borough ordinances and State laws, and primary, general, 

municipal, and special elections; and repealing inconsistent 

laws." 

SUBCHAPTER D 

CONFLICTS 

Sec. 

7131.  Public office. 

7132.  Police officers. 

§ 7131.  Public office. 

(a)  General rule.--Except as set forth in subsection (b), it 

shall be unlawful for a constable to hold or exercise the office 

of magisterial district judge or alderman. 

(b)  Exceptions.--Nothing in this section or in any other law 

or court rule shall be construed to prohibit a constable from: 

(1)  being an officer of a political body or political 

party as those terms are defined in the act of June 3, 1937 

(P.L.1333, No.320), known as the Pennsylvania Election Code; 

(2)  holding the office of a national, State or county 

committee of a political party; 

(3)  running for and holding an elective office; or 

(4)  participating in election day activities. 

§ 7132.  Police officers. 



(a)  Constable employed as policeman not to accept other fees 

in addition to salary.--Except for public rewards and legal 

mileage allowed to a constable for traveling expenses, and 

except as provided in subsection (b), it is unlawful for a 

constable who is also employed as a policeman to charge or 

accept a fee or other compensation, other than his salary as a 

policeman, for services rendered or performed pertaining to his 

office or duties as a policeman or constable. 

(b)  Exception.--Unless prevented from doing so by the 

operation of the civil service provisions of the act of February 

1, 1966 (1965 P.L.1656, No.581), known as The Borough Code, 

borough policemen who reside in the borough may hold and 

exercise the office of constable in the borough, or in any ward 

thereof, and receive all costs, fees and emoluments pertaining 

to such office. 

SUBCHAPTER E 

TRAINING 

Sec. 

7141.  Definitions. 

7142.  Conduct and insurance. 

7143.  Board established. 

7144.  Program established. 

7145.  Program contents. 

7146.  Continuing education. 

7147.  (Reserved). 

7148.  Use of firearms. 

7149.  Restricted account. 

§ 7141.  Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter 

shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Account."  The Constables' Education and Training Account 

established in section 7149 (relating to restricted account). 

"Board."  The Constables' Education and Training Board 

established in section 7143 (relating to board established). 

"Commission."  The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and 

Delinquency of the Commonwealth. 

"Court."  The minor judiciary or any other court in this 

Commonwealth. 

"Judicial duties."  Those services specified in section 7161 

(relating to fees). 

"Term of office of a deputy constable."  The term of office 

of the constable who appointed him. 

§ 7142.  Conduct and insurance. 

(a)  Certification.--After the establishment, implementation 

and administration of the Constables' Education and Training 

Program created under sections 7144 (relating to program 

established) and 7145 (relating to program contents), no 

constable or deputy constable shall perform any judicial duties 

nor demand or receive any fee, surcharge or mileage provided by 

this subchapter unless he has been certified under this 

subchapter. 

(b)  Liability insurance.--Every constable and deputy 

constable must file with the clerk of courts proof that he has, 



currently in force, a policy of professional liability insurance 

covering each individual in the performance of his judicial 

duties with a minimum coverage of $250,000 per incident and a 

minimum aggregate of $500,000 per year. The Constables' 

Education and Training Board shall immediately investigate and 

implement the most cost-effective method of achieving liability 

insurance for constables and deputy constables under this 

subsection. 

(c)  Loss of certification.--Any constable or deputy 

constable who fails, neglects or refuses to maintain a current 

insurance policy as required by subsection (b) or to file proof 

thereof with the clerk of courts shall cease automatically to be 

certified to perform judicial duties upon the expiration of the 

policy of which proof has been filed with the clerk of courts. 

(d)  Recertification.--Any constable or deputy constable who 

ceases to be certified to perform judicial duties as a result of 

the operation of subsection (c) may later be recertified 

immediately by filing with the clerk of courts proof that such 

insurance has been in force continuously since the officer was 

last certified to perform judicial duties. In the case of a 

violation of subsection (c), the individual may be recertified 

by complying with subsection (b). 

(e)  Limitations on liability.--The provisions of this 

subchapter shall not be deemed to impose respondeat superior 

liability on any county. 

(f)  Conduct.--While a constable or deputy constable is 

performing duties other than judicial duties, regardless of 

whether or not he is certified under this subchapter, he shall 

not in any manner hold himself out to be active as an agent, 

employee or representative of any court, magisterial district 

judge or judge. 

§ 7143.  Board established. 

(a)  Board created.--There is established within the 

commission an advisory board to be known as the Constables' 

Education and Training Board. 

(b)  Composition.--The board shall be composed of the 

Pennsylvania State Police Commissioner or his designee and six 

other members appointed by the Governor with the consent of a 

majority of the members of the Senate: 

(1)  Three persons who shall be constables. 

(2)  One person who shall be a magisterial district 

judge. 

(3)  One person who shall be a court administrator. 

(4)  One person who shall be a county commissioner. 

(c)  Appointments and terms.--Members shall serve for three-

year terms and may be appointed for more than one additional 

consecutive term. If a member who serves by virtue of public 

office ceases to represent the class to which he was appointed, 

his membership in the commission shall terminate immediately, 

and a new member shall be appointed in the same manner as his 

predecessor to fill the unexpired portion of the term. No 

constable may be appointed, be reappointed or serve as a board 

member unless he is certified under this subchapter. 

(d)  Vacancy.--A member appointed to fill a vacancy created 



by any reason other than expiration of a term shall be appointed 

for the unexpired term of the member whom he is to succeed in 

the same manner as the original appointment. 

(e)  Expenses.--The members of the board shall serve without 

compensation but shall be reimbursed the necessary and actual 

expenses incurred in attending meetings of the board and in the 

performance of their duties under this subchapter. 

(f)  Removal.--Members of the board may be removed by the 

appointing authority for good cause upon written notice from the 

appointing authority specifically setting forth the cause for 

removal. 

(g)  Chairman elected.--The members of the board shall elect 

a chairman from among the members to serve for a period of one 

year. A chairman may be elected to serve successive terms. The 

Governor shall designate the first chairman for organizational 

purposes only. 

(h)  Meetings.--The board shall meet as often as it deems 

necessary but at least four times each year. Meetings may be 

called by the chairman of the board or by any four members 

thereof, in either case upon at least ten days' written notice 

to all members of the board. A quorum shall consist of four 

members. 

§ 7144.  Program established. 

The board, with the review and approval of the commission, 

shall: 

(1)  Establish, implement and administer the Constables' 

Education and Training Program according to the minimum 

requirements set forth in this subchapter. 

(2)  Establish, implement and administer requirements for 

the minimum courses of study and training for constables and 

deputy constables. 

(3)  Establish, implement and administer requirements for 

courses of study and in-service training for constables and 

deputy constables. 

(4)  Establish, implement and administer requirements for 

a continuing education program for constables and deputy 

constables concerning subjects the board may deem necessary 

and appropriate for the continued education and training of 

constables and deputy constables. 

(5)  Approve or revoke the approval of any school which 

may be utilized for the educational and training requirements 

of this subchapter. 

(6)  Establish the minimum qualifications for instructors 

and certify instructors. 

(7)  Consult, cooperate and contract with universities, 

colleges, law schools, community colleges and institutes for 

the development of basic and continuing education courses for 

constables and deputy constables. 

(8)  Promote the most efficient and economical program 

for constable and deputy constable training by utilizing 

existing facilities, programs and qualified State and local 

personnel. 

(9)  Certify constables and deputy constables who have 

satisfactorily completed the basic and continuing education 



and training requirements of this subchapter and issue 

appropriate certificates to them. 

(10)  Make rules and regulations and perform other duties 

as may be reasonably necessary or appropriate to administer 

the education and training program for constables and deputy 

constables. 

(11)  In consultation with the Insurance Commissioner, 

monitor the price and availability of the liability insurance 

required by section 7142(b) (relating to conduct and 

insurance) and, if deemed necessary by the board, provide 

information and coordination to assure the availability and 

competitive pricing of such insurance. 

(12)  Make an annual report to the Governor and to the 

General Assembly concerning: 

(i)  The administration of the Constables' Education 

and Training Program. 

(ii)  The activities of the board. 

(iii)  The costs of the program. 

(iv)  Proposed changes, if any, in this subchapter. 

§ 7145.  Program contents. 

The Constables' Education and Training Program shall include 

training for a total of 80 hours, the content of which shall be 

determined by regulation. The training shall include instruction 

in the interpretation and application of the fees provided for 

in section 7161 (relating to fees). 

§ 7146.  Continuing education. 

The board, with the review and approval of the commission, 

shall establish a mandatory continuing education program for 

constables and deputy constables, which shall include no more 

than 40 hours per year, concerning subjects the board may deem 

necessary and appropriate for the continued education and 

training of constables and deputy constables. 

§ 7147.  (Reserved). 

§ 7148.  Use of firearms. 

The Constables' Education and Training Board, with the review 

and approval of the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and 

Delinquency, shall establish standards for the certification or 

qualification of constables and deputy constables to carry or 

use firearms in the performance of any duties. 

§ 7149.  Restricted account. 

(a)  Account established.--There is established a special 

restricted account within the General Fund, which shall be known 

as the Constables' Education and Training Account, for the 

purposes of financing training program expenses, the costs of 

administering the program and all other costs associated with 

the activities of the board and the implementation of this 

subchapter and as provided under subsection (f). 

(b)  Surcharge.--There is assessed as a cost in each case 

before a magisterial district judge a surcharge of $5 per docket 

number in each criminal case and $5 per named defendant in each 

civil case in which a constable or deputy constable performs a 

service provided in Subchapter G (relating to compensation), 

except that no county shall be required to pay this surcharge on 

behalf of any indigent or other defendant in a criminal case. 



(c)  Disposition of funds.--The surcharges collected under 

subsection (b), if collected by a constable or deputy constable, 

shall be turned over within one week to the issuing authority. 

The issuing authority shall remit the same to the Department of 

Revenue for deposit into the account. 

(d)  Disbursements.--Disbursements from the account shall be 

made by the commission. 

(e)  Audit.--The Auditor General shall conduct an audit of 

the account as he may deem necessary or advisable, from time to 

time, but not less than once every three years. 

(f)  Fund surplus.--If account money are sufficient to meet 

the expenses and costs under subsection (a), the commission may 

allocate any surplus funds in the account to assist constables 

and deputy constables with costs associated with attendance at 

continuing education programs under section 7146 (relating to 

continuing education). 

SUBCHAPTER F 

POWERS AND DUTIES 

Sec. 

7151.  General imposition of duties and grant of powers. 

7152.  Elections. 

7153.  Service of process. 

7154.  Collection of taxes. 

7155.  Arrest of offenders against forest laws. 

7156.  Executions. 

7157.  Returns and appearance. 

7158.  Arrest in boroughs. 

7159.  Trespassing livestock. 

7159.1. Sale of trespassing livestock. 

§ 7151.  General imposition of duties and grant of powers. 

Constables shall perform all duties authorized or imposed on 

them by statute. 

§ 7152.  Elections. 

The constable of a borough, township or ward, or his deputy, 

shall do all of the following: 

(1)  Be present at the polling place in each election 

district of the borough, township or ward at each election 

during the continuance of each election and while the votes 

are being counted, for the purpose of preserving the peace. 

(2)  Serve at all elections. 

§ 7153.  Service of process. 

If no coroner is in commission to serve process in a suit 

instituted in a court of this Commonwealth in which the sheriff 

of a county may be a party, a constable in the county where the 

process has been issued may serve as the coroner and perform the 

authorized duties of the coroner. 

§ 7154.  Collection of taxes. 

(a)  Bond.--It shall be unlawful for a tax collector to do 

any of the following: 

(1)  Give a warrant against delinquent tax payers to a 

constable unless the constable has given security by bond and 

warrant, with two sufficient sureties and to the satisfaction 

of the court of common pleas, in the sum of $5,000. 

(2)  Give a constable, at any one time, warrants for a 



greater amount of taxes than the amount of the bond required 

under paragraph (1). 

(b)  Report and payment.--A constable shall make a report and 

payment of all collections on warrants under subsection (a) at 

least once in every week after the warrants have been issued. 

(c)  Interest.--In addition to any commissions that may be 

imposed for the collection of taxes, all taxes remaining unpaid 

on the first day of January after the year for which they were 

assessed shall accrue interest until they are paid. 

§ 7155.  Arrest of offenders against forest laws. 

If a person is detected by a constable in the act of 

trespassing upon any forest or timber land within this 

Commonwealth, under circumstances as to warrant reasonable 

suspicion that the person has, is or may commit an offense 

against any law for the protection of forests and timber land, 

the constable may, without first procuring a warrant, arrest the 

person. 

§ 7156.  Executions. 

(a)  Debt, interests and costs.--The debt, interest and costs 

of a writ of execution delivered to a constable shall be entered 

into the docket of a magisterial district court and on the back 

of the writ of execution. A constable may not be discharged from 

the writ of execution unless he provides to the magisterial 

district judge on or before the return day of the writ of 

execution the receipt of the plaintiff or any other legally 

sufficient return. 

(b)  Invalid returns.--If a constable makes a false return, 

does not produce the plaintiff's receipt on the return day or 

makes a return deemed insufficient by the magisterial district 

judge, the magisterial district judge shall issue a summons to 

the constable to appear on the designated day, which may not be 

more than eight days from the date of issuance, to show cause 

why a writ of execution should not be issued against the 

constable for the amount of the writ of execution under 

subsection (a). If the constable does not appear or does not 

show sufficient cause why the writ of execution should not be 

issued against him, the magisterial district judge shall enter 

judgment against the constable for the amount of the writ of 

execution under subsection (a) with costs. No stay may be 

entered upon the writ of execution, and, upon application of the 

plaintiff or his agent, the magisterial district judge shall 

issue an execution against the constable for the amount of the 

judgment, which may be directed to an authorized person. The 

summons under this subsection shall be issued to an authorized 

person to serve. If the summons is not served, that person shall 

pay a fine of $20. If an authorized person cannot be 

conveniently found to serve the summons, the magisterial 

district judge shall direct it to the supervisor of the highways 

of the township, ward or district where the constable resides, 

who shall serve the summons or pay a penalty of $20. 

(c)  Insolvent debtors.--Nothing in this section shall affect 

proceedings regarding insolvent debtors and their discharge on a 

full surrender of their property. 

§ 7157.  Returns and appearance. 



(a)  Returns.--In a county of the sixth, seventh or eighth 

class, a constable is not required to make a return, if required 

by law, to the court of common pleas if the constable has no 

information to impart in the return. 

(b)  Appearance.--A court may summon a constable to appear 

before it and direct the constable to investigate a complaint of 

a violation of law or of a condition which a constable is 

required to report to the court and to make a report of his 

investigation. 

§ 7158.  Arrest in boroughs. 

In addition to any other powers granted under law, a 

constable of a borough shall, without warrant and upon view, 

arrest and commit for hearing any person who: 

(1)  Is guilty of a breach of the peace, vagrancy, 

riotous or disorderly conduct or drunkenness. 

(2)  May be engaged in the commission of any unlawful act 

tending to imperil the personal security or endanger the 

property of the citizens. 

(3)  Violates any ordinance of the borough for which a 

fine or penalty is imposed. 

§ 7159.  Trespassing livestock. 

(a)  In general.--An owner or tenant of an enclosed or 

unenclosed, improved land in this Commonwealth who discovers 

trespassing livestock shall notify the constable of the 

township, borough or ward in which the improved land lies. If 

the constable of the township, borough or ward is unavailable or 

unable to assist, the owner or tenant shall notify the constable 

of the county. The following shall apply: 

(1)  The constable shall impound the livestock either 

with the owner or tenant of the land if the owner, and the 

tenant if one exists, agrees or with another individual or 

entity that the constable may deem best situated to care for 

the livestock. 

(2)  All reasonable costs of keeping the livestock shall 

be part of the costs of care. 

(b)  Notification.--The owner of the livestock shall be 

notified in the following manner: 

(1)  If the owner is known and resides within the county 

where the trespass has been committed, the constable shall 

give written notice to the owner that the livestock has been 

impounded, the location of the livestock and the name of the 

owner of the land where the livestock trespassed. Notice 

shall be given within 24 hours of impounding in accordance 

with the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(2)  If the owner is known but does not reside in the 

county where the trespass has been committed, the constable 

shall give written notice to the owner that the livestock has 

been impounded, the location of the livestock and the name of 

the owner of the land where the livestock trespassed. Notice 

shall be served within 24 hours of impounding by registered 

mail. 

(c)  Payment.--If, within four days of receiving notice, the 

owner of the trespassing livestock pays for the cost of the 

damage to the land, the costs of care and the fee for the 



constable, the livestock shall be returned to the owner within 

three days after receiving payment. 

(d)  Refusal.--If the owner fails to pay the costs and fees 

within four days, the constable shall notify the magisterial 

district judge of the county where the trespass was committed. 

The magisterial district judge shall then direct three 

disinterested owners of land in the locale where the damage 

occurred to inspect the trespass, value and appraise the damage. 

The three shall then consider the appraisal, value and costs of 

care and make a report to the magisterial district judge within 

five days. 

§ 7159.1. Sale of trespassing livestock. 

(a)  Process.--If the owner of the livestock fails to pay for 

the costs, damages and fees within one day of the filing of the 

report of the appraisers, the livestock shall be sold at a 

public sale. The following shall apply: 

(1)  The livestock must be described with particularity 

in a printed or written advertisement. The following shall 

apply: 

(i)  The advertisement must be posted at six of the 

most public places in the locale of the damaged property. 

(ii)  The advertisement must set forth a place and 

time of public sale of the livestock. 

(2)  At the named time and place, the livestock shall be 

sold to the highest bidder unless at any time prior to the 

sale the owner of the livestock shall pay all costs, damages 

and fees or has begun an action for replevin against the 

owner of the land. 

(3)  The constable shall remit a written report of the 

sale and all money realized from the sale of the livestock to 

the magisterial district judge. The following shall apply: 

(i)  The magisterial district judge shall pay the 

costs and damages to the land owner. 

(ii)  Not less than three, nor more than four, months 

after the sale, the magisterial district judge shall 

remit any surplus to the county treasurer in the county 

where the damage occurred. 

(iii)  The owner of the livestock shall have the 

right to submit proof of ownership to the magisterial 

district judge or the county treasurer at any time within 

two years of the sale to claim any surplus of the sale. 

(4)  If the sale results in a deficit, the payment shall 

be made as follows: 

(i)  First, the costs shall be paid in full or 

divided pro rata among the constable, magisterial 

district judge, the appraisers and the cost of care. 

(ii)  After the costs are paid in full, the remaining 

amount shall be paid to the owner of the land for any 

damage sustained. 

(b)  Redemption.--The owner of livestock impounded under this 

section shall have the right, at any time before the livestock 

are sold, to pay all the costs accrued and the amount of damages 

awarded in the appraisement in section 7159 (relating to 

trespassing livestock) and to recover the livestock. 



(c)  Replevin.--The owner may also recover the impounded 

livestock, at any time before the livestock are sold, through a 

successful action of replevin. The following shall apply: 

(1)  The action for replevin must be on the condition 

that the owner of the livestock pay all damages and fees, 

including: 

(i)  Amount of damages sustained by the land owner. 

(ii)  Costs of care. 

(iii)  Fees to the constable, magisterial district 

judge and the three disinterested appraisers. 

(2)  The damages and fees shall be itemized by costs, 

damages and fees. 

(3)  If a jury or the appraisers determine that the harm 

to the owner of the livestock was greater than the harm to 

the owner of the land, the owner of the livestock must still 

pay the costs and fees, but not to the attorney for the owner 

of the land. 

(4)  If a jury or the appraisers determine that the harm 

to the owner of the land is greater than the harm to the 

owner of the livestock, the court shall require the owner of 

the livestock to pay a reasonable fee to the attorney for the 

owner of the land. 

SUBCHAPTER G 

COMPENSATION 

Sec. 

7161.  Fees. 

7161.1. Specific fees. 

7162.  Returns. 

7163.  Election services. 

7164.  Impounding, selling and viewing fees. 

7165.  Seizure fees. 

7166.  Returns to court. 

§ 7161.  Fees. 

(a)  Travel or mileage.--Actual mileage for travel by motor 

vehicle shall be reimbursed at a rate equal to the highest rate 

allowed by the Internal Revenue Service. If travel occurs by a 

mode other than motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be for the 

vouchered travel expenses. 

(b)  Apportionment.--If more than one defendant is 

transported simultaneously, reimbursements shall be for miles 

traveled, and the travel cost shall be divided between or among 

the defendants. 

(c)  Additional persons.--A constable or deputy constable 

when he is transporting a prisoner, serving a felony or 

misdemeanor warrant or serving a warrant on a juvenile or a 

defendant of the opposite sex may, at his discretion, be 

accompanied by a second constable or deputy constable who is 

certified under section 7147 (relating to automatic 

certification) to perform judicial duties. In those cases, each 

officer shall receive the fee set out in this section. In all 

other civil, landlord-tenant and summary criminal cases, the 

issuing authority may authorize payment to a second officer. 

(d)  Civil and landlord-tenant cases.--In civil and landlord-

tenant cases, constable fees must be paid in advance to the 



court for services desired to be performed. These fees shall not 

be refundable to the plaintiff if a case is settled or a debt is 

satisfied less than 48 hours prior to a scheduled sale or 

ejectment. In the latter case, the constable or deputy constable 

shall be paid for holding the sale or carrying out an ejectment, 

respectively. 

(e)  Payment.--All civil, landlord-tenant and criminal fees 

shall be paid by the court to the constable as soon as possible 

and in no case not more than 15 days in civil and landlord-

tenant cases and 30 days in criminal cases after the service is 

performed and a proper request for payment is submitted, 

provided that, in criminal cases where the books and accounts of 

the relevant county offices are payable on a monthly basis, 

payment shall be made not more than 15 days after the close of 

the month. 

(f)  Civil and landlord-tenant cases.--Fees in civil and 

landlord-tenant cases shall be as follows: 

(1)  For serving complaint, summons or notice on suitor 

or tenant, either personally or by leaving a copy, $13, plus 

$5 for each additional defendant at the same address, $2.50 

for each return of service, plus mileage. 

(2)  For levying goods, including schedule of property 

levied upon and set aside, notice of levy and return of 

service, $75, plus mileage. 

(3)  For advertising personal property for public sale, 

$7 per posting, with a maximum $21 fee, plus mileage, plus 

the cost of advertising. 

(4)  For selling goods levied, receipts and returns to 

court, $85, plus mileage. 

(5)  For making return of not found, $13, plus mileage. 

Payment shall be limited to three returns of not found. 

(6)  For executing order of possession, $13, plus $5 for 

each additional defendant at the same address, $2.50 for each 

return of service, plus mileage. 

(7)  For ejectment, $90, $2.50 for each return of 

service, plus mileage. 

(8)  For making any return of service other than not 

found, $2.50 each. 

(9)  For providing courtroom security as ordered, $13 per 

hour, assessed against one or more parties as determined by 

the court. 

(10)  Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be 

reimbursed at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by 

the Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other than 

motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be for vouchered travel 

expenses. 

(g)  Criminal cases.--Fees in criminal cases shall be as 

follows: 

(1)  For executing each warrant of arrest or for 

effectuating the payment of fines and costs by attempting to 

execute each warrant of arrest, $25 for each docket number 

and $2.50 for each return of service, plus mileage. 

(2)  For taking custody of a defendant, $5 per defendant. 

(3)  For conveyance of defendant to or from court, $5 per 



defendant. 

(4)  For attendance at arraignment or hearing, $13. 

(5)  For executing discharge, $5 per defendant. 

(6)  For executing commitment, $5 per defendant. 

(7)  For executing release, $5 per defendant. 

(8)  For making returns to the court, $2.50. 

(9)  Transporting each nonincarcerated defendant to jail, 

$17, plus mileage; transporting an incarcerated prisoner, $38 

per prisoner, plus an hourly rate of $13 per hour, plus 

mileage. Computation of hourly rate will apply after the 

expiration of the first hour per prisoner per hour, not to 

exceed $26 per hour per constable. 

(10)  Receipt of the fees for transporting a 

nonincarcerated defendant under paragraph (9) shall not 

exclude receipt of the fees under paragraphs (6) and (8) for 

that transport. 

(11)  Receipt of the fees for transporting an 

incarcerated prisoner under paragraph (9) shall exclude 

receipt of the fees under paragraphs (2), (3), (4) and (7) 

for the transport. 

(12)  Actual mileage for travel by motor vehicle shall be 

reimbursed at the rate equal to the highest rate allowed by 

the Internal Revenue Service. If travel is by other than 

motor vehicle, reimbursement shall be for vouchered travel 

expenses. 

(13)  For conveying defendants for fingerprinting, $17 

per defendant, plus $13 per hour beyond the first hour per 

defendant per hour, not to exceed $26 per hour per constable, 

plus mileage. 

(14)  For holding one or more defendants at the office of 

a magisterial district judge, $13 per hour per defendant 

beyond the first half hour. 

(15)  For courtroom security as ordered, $13 per hour, 

assessed against one or more parties as determined by the 

court. 

(16)  In all criminal cases wherein the defendant is 

discharged or indigent or the case is otherwise dismissed, 

the court shall assess to the county the fee provided in this 

section, except that, in cases of private criminal complaints 

where the defendant is discharged prior to the indictment or 

the filing of any information or the case is otherwise 

dismissed at the summary offense hearing, the court shall 

assess the fee to the affiant. 

(h)  Subpoenas.--For serving district court-issued subpoenas 

for civil, landlord-tenant or criminal matters, $13 for first 

witness, plus $5 for each additional witness at the same 

address, $2.50 return of service for each subpoena, plus 

mileage. The same fee shall be payable for attempting to serve a 

subpoena at a wrong address supplied by the party requesting the 

service. 

(i)  Similar fees.--For civil, landlord-tenant and criminal 

services not specifically provided for, the court shall pay the 

same fees as it pays for services that it determines to be 

similar to those performed. 



§ 7161.1. Specific fees. 

(a)  Court appearances and returns.--For attendance on court 

and making returns, the fees to be received by constables shall 

be $2.50 per day. 

(b)  Notices of election.--For serving notices of their 

election upon township or borough officers, the fees to be 

received by constables shall be $0.15 for each service. 

(c)  Juvenile matters.--Constables shall receive the same 

fees for serving writs in juvenile cases as they receive for 

similar services in criminal cases. 

§ 7162.  Returns. 

The returns required by law to be made by constables to the 

court of common pleas may, at the discretion of the court, be 

abolished, or be made at times and relating to subjects as the 

court may require. No constable shall be entitled to fees or 

mileage for making a return, except as required by the court. 

§ 7163.  Election services. 

For services performed under section 7152 (relating to 

elections), the constables and deputies performing the services 

shall receive the same compensation payable to inspectors and 

clerks under section 412.2(a) of the act of June 3, 1937 

(P.L.1333, No.320), known as the Pennsylvania Election Code. The 

compensation shall be paid by the county, and the sum shall 

include pay for serving notices in writing to persons elected at 

the election. 

§ 7164.  Impounding, selling and viewing fees. 

(a)  Impounding and selling.--The fees collected by the 

constable for impounding an animal shall be $1 and $2 for each 

animal sold, provided that the fees of the constable for 

impounding and selling amount to not more than $4. The fees of 

the magisterial district judge shall be $1 for each case, 

without regard to the number of animals impounded, for all cases 

where no sale is made and $3 for all cases where a sale is made. 

(b)  Viewing.--The fees for each viewer appointed to assess 

the damages shall be $1 for the first hour and $.50 per hour for 

each hour necessarily engaged after the first hour. 

§ 7165.  Seizure fees. 

(a)  Registration plates and cards.--If constables and deputy 

constables are delegated authority to seize registration plates 

and registration cards under 75 Pa.C.S. § 1376(b)(5) (relating 

to surrender of registration plates and cards upon suspension or 

revocation), they shall be compensated by the department at the 

rate of $15 for each registration plate and card jointly seized, 

plus mileage. The department shall pay a constable or deputy 

constable within 30 days after a documented request for payment 

is submitted to it. 

(b)  Drivers' licenses.--If constables and deputy constables 

are delegated authority to seize drivers' licenses under 75 

Pa.C.S. § 1540(c)(1)(v) (relating to surrender of license), they 

shall be compensated by the department at the rate of $15 for 

each driver's license seized, plus mileage. The department shall 

pay a constable or deputy constable within 30 days after a 

documented request is submitted to it. 

§ 7166.  Returns to court. 



(a)  Scope of section.--This section shall apply to counties 

of the sixth, seventh and eighth class. 

(b)   Requirements.--No compensation for making a return to 

court shall be paid to a constable unless he has appeared in 

court and presented his return containing information required 

by the court, at the regular time fixed by law for making the 

return. 

SUBCHAPTER H 

PENALTIES AND REMEDIES 

Sec. 

7171.  Election notice in certain areas. 

7172.  Incompetence. 

7173.  Taxes. 
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7175.  Criminal penalty. 

7176.  Compensation violation. 

7177.  Failure to execute process. 

7178.  Failure to serve in a township. 

§ 7171.  Election notice in certain areas. 

(a)  Scope of section.--This section applies to wards, 

townships and districts. 

(b)  Acting constables.--The acting constable shall, within 

six days after the election for a constable, give notice in 

writing to the elected individual of election to the office. An 

acting constable who violates this subsection shall pay a civil 

penalty of $16 to the Commonwealth. 

(c)  Elected constables.--An individual elected and notified 

under subsection (b) shall appear on the next day that the court 

of common pleas of the applicable judicial district is in 

session and either decline or accept the office. A constable 

elect who violates this subsection shall pay a civil penalty of 

$16 to the Commonwealth. 

(d)  Court.--The applicable court of common pleas has the 

authority to levy the penalty under subsection (b) or (c). 

§ 7172.  Incompetence. 

(a)  Inquiry.--A court of common pleas with competent 

jurisdiction may inquire into the official conduct of the 

constable if any of the following apply: 

(1)  A surety of the constable files a verified petition 

alleging that the constable is incompetent to discharge 

official duties because of intemperance or neglect of duty. 

(2)  Any person files a verified petition alleging that 

the constable is incompetent to discharge official duties for 

a reason other than intemperance or neglect of duty. This 

paragraph includes an act of oppression of a litigant or a 

witness. 

(b)  Determination.--If the court determines that the 

constable is incompetent to discharge official duties, the 

following apply: 

(1)  The court may: 

(i)  require additional security from the constable; 

or 

(ii)  remove the constable from office. 

(2)  Upon removal under paragraph (1)(ii), the court may 



appoint a suitable individual to fill the vacancy until a 

successor is elected and qualified. The appointed individual 

must have a freehold estate with at least $1,000 beyond 

incumbrance or furnish security. 

§ 7173.  Taxes. 

If a constable defaults on remittance of collected tax 

pursuant to law, all of the following apply: 

(1)  The constable is no longer authorized to receive 

tax. 

(2)  The person that was entitled to the remittance shall 

publish, three times in three daily newspapers, notice of the 

loss of authority under paragraph (1). 

(3)  The constable may not draw compensation until the 

default is cured. 

§ 7174.  Action against security. 

(a)  Scope of section.--This section applies to a constable 

subject to all of the following: 

(1)  The constable has furnished security for the 

faithful performance of the duties of office. 

(2)  The constable fails to perform the duties of office. 

(3)  One of the following subparagraphs applies: 

(i)  The constable leaves the country before a 

judgment is entered on the failure under paragraph (2). 

(ii)  A judgment is entered against the constable for 

failure under paragraph (2), and the judgment cannot be 

paid. 

(b)  Procedure.--A court of competent jurisdiction may issue 

a writ of scire facias and proceed against the security. 

(c)  Appeal.--A surety and a constable may appeal from a 

judgment on a writ under subsection (b). 

§ 7175.  Criminal penalty. 

A constable who neglects or refuses to perform the duties 

under the act of June 3, 1937 (P.L.1333, No.320), known as the 

Pennsylvania Election Code, commits a misdemeanor of the third 

degree and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of 

$500 or to imprisonment for not less than one month nor more 

than one year, or both. 

§ 7176.  Compensation violation. 

A constable who violates the act of July 14, 1897 (P.L.206, 

No.209), entitled "An act to regulate the remuneration of 

policemen and constables employed as policemen throughout the 

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and prohibiting them from charging 

or accepting any fee or other compensation, in addition to their 

salary, except as public rewards and mileage for traveling 

expenses," commits a misdemeanor of the third degree and shall, 

upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of $50 or to 

imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or both. 

§ 7177.  Failure to execute process. 

(a)  Scope of section.--This section applies to a constable 

subject to all of the following: 

(1)  The constable is entrusted with the execution of a 

process for the collection of money. 

(2)  The constable, by neglect of duty, fails to collect 

the money. 



(3)  The constable's security is used to pay the money. 

(b)  Equitable interest.--The person that pays the security 

under subsection (a)(3): 

(1)  has an equitable interest in the judgment; and 

(2)  may collect the judgment in the name of the party 

that won the judgment. 

§ 7178.  Failure to serve in a township. 

(a)  Scope of section.--This section applies to an individual 

in a township if all of the following circumstances exist: 

(1)  The individual is elected or appointed a constable. 

(2)  The individual has a freehold estate worth at least 

$1,000. 

(3)  The individual fails to: 

(i)  serve; or 

(ii)  appoint a deputy to serve. 

(b)  Fine.--Except as set forth in subsection (c), an 

individual under subsection (a) shall be fined $40 for the use 

of the appropriate township. 

(c)  Exception.--Subsection (b) shall not apply to an 

individual who: 

(1)  has served personally or by deputy in the office of 

constable of the same township within 15 years of election or 

appointment; or 

(2)  has paid a fine under subsection (b) within 15 years 

of election or appointment. 

Section 3.  Sections 1376(b)(5) and 1540(c)(1)(v) of Title 75 

are amended to read: 

§ 1376.  Surrender of registration plates and cards upon 

suspension or revocation. 

* * * 

(b)  Delegation of authority.--If after 30 days from the mail 

date of a notice of suspension or revocation, the registration 

plates and cards are not surrendered under subsection (a), the 

department may delegate authority to the following persons to 

seize a registration plate and registration card which are 

required to be surrendered under subsection (a): 

* * * 

(5)  Constables or deputy constables. [If constables and 

deputy constables are delegated authority to seize 

registration plates and registration cards under this 

section, they shall be compensated by the department at the 

rate of $15 for each registration plate and card jointly 

seized, plus mileage. The department shall pay a constable or 

deputy constable within 30 days after a documented request 

for payment is submitted to it.] 

* * * 

§ 1540.  Surrender of license. 

* * * 

(c)  Seizure of revoked, suspended, canceled or disqualified 

licenses.-- 

(1)  The department may delegate authority to the 

following persons to seize the driver's license of any person 

whose driver's license has been ordered to be surrendered by 

a court or district attorney or by the department: 



* * * 

(v)  Constables or deputy constables. [If constables 

and deputy constables are delegated authority to seize 

drivers' licenses under this subsection, they shall be 

compensated by the department at the rate of $15 for each 

driver's license seized, plus mileage. The department 

shall pay a constable or deputy constable within 30 days 

after a documented request is submitted to it.] 

* * * 

Section 4.  Repeals are as follows: 

(1)  The General Assembly declares that the repeals under 

paragraph (2) are necessary to effectuate the addition of 44 

Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subchs. A, B, C, D, F, G and H. 

(2)  The following acts and parts of acts are repealed to 

the extent specified: 

(i)  Section 1 of the act of 1799 (3 Sm.L.2012 Ch.6), 

entitled "A supplement to the act, entitled 'An act to 

extend the powers of the justices of the peace of this 

state,'" absolutely. 

(ii)  Sections 12 and 19 of the act of March 20, 1810 

(P.L.208, No.132), entitled "An act to amend and 

consolidate with its Supplements, the Act entitled 'An 

act for the recovery of debts and demands, not exceeding 

one hundred dollars, before a Justice of the Peace, and 

for the election of Constables, and for other purposes," 

absolutely. 

(iii)  Section 3 of the act of April 24, 1829 

(P.L.369, No.216), entitled "A further supplement to the 

act entitled An act to amend and consolidate with its 

supplements, the act entitled An act for the recovery of 

debts and demands not exceeding one hundred dollars 

before a justice of the peace, and for the election of 

constables, and for other purposes," absolutely. 

(iv)  Sections 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113 and 

114 of the act of April 15, 1834 (P.L.537, No.247), 

entitled "An act relating to counties and townships, and 

county and township officers," absolutely. 

(v)  Section 12 of the act of October 13, 1840 

(Special Session 1, P.L.1, No.258). 

(vi)  Section 14 of the act of May 27, 1841 (P.L.400, 

No.141), entitled "An act relating to the Election of 

County Treasurers, and for other purposes," absolutely. 

(vii)  Section 19 of the act of April 22, 1850 

(P.L.549, No.342), entitled "A supplement to an act, 

entitled 'An Act to prevent waste in certain cases within 

this commonwealth,' passed the twenty-ninth day of March, 

one thousand eight hundred and twenty-two; to land and 

building associations; giving the court of Susquehanna 

county jurisdiction in a certain case; relative to the 

service of process in certain cases; to party walls in 

West Philadelphia; to the proof of a certain will; to the 

sale and purchase of certain burial grounds in 

Philadelphia; to the laying of gas pipes in the district 

of Moyamensing; to the release of certain sureties in 



Erie county; to the State Lunatic hospital; relative to 

the service of process against sheriffs; to the rights of 

married women; to ground rents; and relating to foreign 

insurance companies," absolutely. 

(viii)  Section 15 of the act of April 21, 1855 

(P.L.264, No.281), entitled "A supplement to the act 

Consolidating the city of Philadelphia," absolutely. 

(ix)  Section 17 of the act of April 21, 1855 

(P.L.264, No.281), as to constables. 

(x)  Section 1 of the act of May 3, 1876 (P.L.99, 

No.67), entitled "An act regulating procedure for 

violation of ordinances of cities of the first class," as 

to constables. 

(xi)  Section 1 of the act of February 12, 1889 

(P.L.3, No.1), entitled "An act to provide for the 

commencement of the terms of office of councilmen, 

constables and school directors in new wards, when 

erected in cities of the first class under existing laws 

and where the several wards constitute separate school 

districts, to provide for the supervision of the public 

schools in such new wards until the organization of the 

board of school directors of the new school section, and 

to provide for the term of councilmen and constables 

already elected by the voters of the old ward," as to 

constables. 

(xii)  Section 1 of the act of February 14, 1889 

(P.L.6, No.5), entitled "An act to authorize the election 

of constables for three years," absolutely. 

(xiii)  Section 1 of the act of May 4, 1889 (P.L.83, 

No.79), entitled "An act to authorize the election of 

constables for three years in cities of the second and 

third class," absolutely. 

(xiv)  Section 1 of the act of April 29, 1897 

(P.L.29, No.25), entitled "An act to authorize constables 

and other peace officers, without first procuring a 

warrant, to arrest persons reasonably suspected by them 

of offending against the laws protecting timber lands," 

absolutely. 

(xv)  Section 1 of the act of June 4, 1897 (P.L.121, 

No.101), entitled "An act relating to boroughs, providing 

a method of procedure for violations of law and borough 

ordinances, and for the collection of the fines and 

penalties imposed for said violations," as to constables. 

(xvi)  Section 2 of the act of July 14, 1897 

(P.L.266, No.209), entitled "An act to regulate the 

remuneration of policemen and constables employed as 

policemen throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 

and prohibiting them from charging or accepting any fee 

or other compensation, in addition to their salary, 

except as public rewards and mileage for traveling 

expenses," absolutely. 

(xvii)  Section 3 of the act of July 14, 1897 

(P.L.266, No.209), as to constables. 

(xviii)  Section 1 of the act of April 25, 1905 



(P.L.309, No.214), entitled "An act authorizing policemen 

to hold and exercise the office of constables," 

absolutely. 

(xix)  Section 1 of the act of April 23, 1909 

(P.L.151, No.104), entitled "An act fixing the fees to be 

received by constables in this Commonwealth," absolutely. 

(xx)  Section 1 of the act of June 9, 1911 (P.L.727, 

No.299), entitled "An act authorizing the election in 

first class townships of an additional constable, and 

fixing his term," absolutely. 

(xxi)  Section 1 of the act of June 19, 1913 

(P.L.534, No.342), entitled "An act relating to 

appointment of deputy constables," absolutely. 

(xxii)  Sections 1, 2 and 3 of the act of May 31, 

1919 (P.L.357, No.171), entitled "An act relating to the 

duties of constables in certain counties; prohibiting 

them from making returns to the court of quarter sessions 

in certain cases; authorizing the court to direct 

investigations and reports by constables, and fixing 

their compensation in such cases," absolutely. 

(xxiii)  Section 14 of the act of June 28, 1923 

(P.L.903, No.348), entitled "A supplement to an act, 

approved the fourteenth day of May, one thousand nine 

hundred and fifteen (Pamphlet Laws, three hundred and 

twelve), entitled 'An act providing a system for 

government of boroughs, and revising, amending, and 

consolidating the law relating to boroughs'; so as to 

provide a system of government where a borough now has 

annexed or hereafter shall annex land in an adjoining 

county, including assessment of property, levying and 

collection of taxes, making municipal improvements, and 

filing and collecting of liens for the same; the 

jurisdiction of courts for the enforcement of borough 

ordinances and State laws, and primary, general, 

municipal, and special elections; and repealing 

inconsistent laws," absolutely. 

(xxiv)  Section 1 of the act of April 6, 1925 

(P.L.155, No.113), entitled "An act providing constables' 

fees for service of writs in juvenile cases," absolutely. 

(xxv)  Section 1 of the act of March 20, 1929 

(P.L.32, No.32), entitled "An act providing for the 

filling of vacancies in the office of constable in any 

borough, town, ward of any city, borough, or town or 

township of this Commonwealth," absolutely. 

(xxvi)  Sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 of the 

act of June 10, 1931 (P.L.492, No.156), entitled "An act 

relating to the trespassing of live stock on improved 

lands; providing for the taking up, impounding and sale 

thereof; imposing duties on and fixing the fees of 

constables, justices of the peace, and viewers appointed 

in connection therewith; prescribing the procedure for 

repossession by the owner thereof; providing for the 

fixing and taxing of costs, including attorneys' fees; 

and repealing inconsistent legislation," absolutely. 



(xxvii)  Section 1 of the act of February 28, 1933 

(P.L.5, No.3), entitled "An act relating to constables' 

returns to the court of quarter sessions," absolutely. 

(xxviii)  Section 412.2(g) of the act of June 3, 1937 

(P.L.1333, No.320), entitled "An act concerning 

elections, including general, municipal, special and 

primary elections, the nomination of candidates, primary 

and election expenses and election contests; creating and 

defining membership of county boards of elections; 

imposing duties upon the Secretary of the Commonwealth, 

courts, county boards of elections, county commissioners; 

imposing penalties for violation of the act, and 

codifying, revising and consolidating the laws relating 

thereto; and repealing certain acts and parts of acts 

relating to elections," absolutely. 

(xxix)  The first two sentences of section 1207 of 

the act of June 3, 1937 (P.L.1333, No.320), absolutely. 

(xxx)  Section 1822 of the act of June 3, 1937 

(P.L.1333, No.320), absolutely. 

(xxxi)  Section 1 of the act of May 26, 1943 

(P.L.637, No.280), entitled "An act providing that the 

terms of constables hereafter elected in cities of the 

second, second class A and third classes, boroughs and 

townships, shall be for six years," absolutely. 

(xxxii)  Section 1 of the act of April 3, 1955 (1956 

P.L.1382, No.441), entitled "An act making the offices of 

constable and justice of the peace or alderman 

incompatible," absolutely. 

(xxxiii)  Section 1126 of the act of February 1, 1966 

(1965 P.L.1656, No.581), entitled "An act concerning 

boroughs, and revising, amending and consolidating the 

law relating to boroughs," absolutely. 

(xxxiv)  Section 1 of the act of February 2, 1970 

(P.L.2, No.2), entitled "An act abolishing the office of 

constable in the City of Philadelphia and providing for 

the performance of duties under The Landlord and Tenant 

Act of 1951," absolutely. 

(xxxv)  Sections 1 and 2 of the act of June 29, 1976 

(P.L.475, No.121), entitled "An act clarifying the powers 

of constables, county detectives, sheriffs, deputy 

sheriffs, waterways patrolmen and game protectors," as to 

constables. 

(xxxvi)  Section 10 of the act of October 4, 1978 

(P.L.883, No.170), entitled "An act relating to conflicts 

of interest involving certain public officials serving in 

State or State agencies and local political subdivision 

positions and prohibiting certain public employees from 

engaging in certain conflict of interest activities 

requiring certain disclosures and providing penalties," 

absolutely. 

(3)  All acts and parts of acts are repealed insofar as 

they are inconsistent with this act. 

Section 5.  The General Assembly finds and declares as 

follows: 



(1)  This act consolidates a major title of the 

Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes. 

(2)  In order to further the process of statutory 

consolidation, it is necessary to eliminate obsolete 

provisions in every title of the Pennsylvania Consolidated 

Statutes. 

(3)  The repeal of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 53 is necessary because 

the chapter became obsolete when it was replaced by 61 

Pa.C.S. Ch. 45 in the act of August 11, 2009 (P.L.147, 

No.33), entitled "An act amending Title 42 (Judiciary and 

Judicial Procedure) and codifying Title 61 (Penal and 

Correctional Institutions) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated 

Statutes, further providing for adoption of guidelines for 

resentencing, for adoption of guidelines for parole and for 

adoption of recommitment ranges following revocation of 

parole by board; providing for temporary release from county 

correctional institution; further providing for sentence of 

total confinement; providing for parole without board 

supervision, for judicial power to release inmates and for 

transfers of inmates in need of medical treatment; further 

providing for State intermediate punishment; providing for 

other criminal provisions; amending the heading of Title 61; 

adding definitions, provisions relating to general 

administration of correctional institutions, State 

correctional institutions, county correctional institutions, 

house of detention for untried inmates and witnesses, inmate 

labor, medical services, visitation, inmate prerelease plans, 

motivational boot camp, execution procedure and method, 

recidivism risk reduction incentive, miscellaneous matters 

relating thereto, probation and parole generally, the 

Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, County Probation 

and Parole Officers' Firearm Education and Training and 

correctional institution interstate compacts; and making 

conforming amendments, editorial changes and repeals relating 

to codification." 

(4)  The addition of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subchs. A, B, C, 

D, F, G and H is a continuation of the statutory provisions 

repealed in section 4(2) of this act. The following apply: 

(i)  Except as otherwise provided in 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 

71, all activities initiated under the statutory 

provisions repealed in section 4(2) of this act shall 

continue and remain in full force and effect and may be 

completed under 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71. Orders, regulations, 

rules and decisions which were made under the statutory 

provisions set forth in section 4(2) of this act and 

which are in effect on the effective date of 4(2) of this 

act shall remain in full force and effect until revoked, 

vacated or modified under 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71. Contracts, 

obligations and collective bargaining agreements entered 

into under the statutory provisions repealed in section 

4(2) of this act are not affected nor impaired by the 

repeal in section 4(2) of this act. 

(ii)  Except as set forth in subparagraph (iii), any 

difference in language between 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subchs. 



A, B, C, D, F and G and the statutory provisions repealed 

in section 4(2) of this act is intended only to conform 

to the style of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 

and is not intended to change or affect the legislative 

intent, judicial construction or administration and 

implementation of the statutory provisions repealed in 

section 4(2) of this act. 

(iii)  Subparagraph (ii) does not apply to any of the 

following provisions of Title 44: 

(A)  Section 7112. 

(B)  Section 7113. 

(C)  Section 7114(a). 

(D)  Section 7143(h). 

(E)  Section 7148(b). 

(F)  Section 7149(b). 

(G)  Section 7151. 

(5)  The provisions on constable training have been 

transferred from former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949 to 44 

Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subch. E. Revisions have been made in 44 

Pa.C.S. §§ 7143(h), 7148(b) and 7149(b). Except as otherwise 

provided in 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71, all activities initiated under 

former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949 shall continue and 

remain in full force and effect and may be completed under 44 

Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subch. E. Orders, regulations, rules and 

decisions which were made under former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 

through 2949 and which are in effect on the effective date of 

section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949) of this act shall 

remain in full force and effect until revoked, vacated or 

modified under 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 71 Subch. E. Contracts, 

obligations and collective bargaining agreements entered into 

under former 42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949 and which are in 

effect on the effective date of section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 

through 2949) of this act are not affected nor impaired by 

section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. §§ 2941 through 2949) of this act. 

(6)  Provisions on constable fees have been transferred 

from 42 Pa.C.S. § 2950 to 44 Pa.C.S. § 7161. Except as 

otherwise provided in 44 Pa.C.S. § 7161, all activities 

initiated under former 42 Pa.C.S. § 2950 shall continue and 

remain in full force and effect and may be completed under 44 

Pa.C.S. § 7161. Orders, regulations, rules and decisions 

which were made under former 42 Pa.C.S. § 2950 and which are 

in effect on the effective date of section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. § 

2950) of this act shall remain in full force and effect until 

revoked, vacated or modified under 44 Pa.C.S. § 7161. 

Contracts, obligations and collective bargaining agreements 

entered into under former 42 Pa.C.S. § 2950 and which are in 

effect on the effective date of section 1 (42 Pa.C.S. § 2950) 

of this act are not affected nor impaired by section 1 (42 

Pa.C.S. § 2950) of this act. 

(7)  This act deals with fees and funds affecting the 

judicial branch of State government, including fees which may 

be charged by constables in civil and criminal cases and 

additional fees and surcharges on the initiation of legal 

proceedings and on the filing of legal documents. In order to 



further the process of statutory consolidation, it is 

necessary to maintain and continue the coordination of fees 

and funding affecting any branch of State government. 

Section 6.  If this section takes effect after October 13, 

2009, the repeal of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 53 shall apply retroactively 

to October 13, 2009. 

Section 7.  This act shall take effect as follows: 

(1)  The repeal of 44 Pa.C.S. Ch. 53 shall take effect 

October 13, 2009, or immediately, whichever is later. 

(2)  The following provisions shall take effect 

immediately: 

(i)  Sections 5(1), (2) and (3) and 6 of this act. 

(ii)  This section. 

(3)  The remainder of this act shall take effect in 60 

days. 

 

 

APPROVED--The 9th day of October, A.D. 2009. 

 

EDWARD G. RENDELL 

 


