
TYPES OF PROTECTION ORDERS 
There are three types of protection orders. They 
are: 

1. Protection from Abuse 
2. Protection from Intimidation 
3. Sexual Violence Protection 

Each protection order, including who is eligible, is 
explained later. 

WHERE CAN I FILE A PROTECTION 
ORDER? 
A petition can be filed with the Court of Common 
Pleas at the York County Judicial Center, 45 North 
George Street, York, PA 17401 during business 
hours. The process can take up to two hours and 
an ex parte hearing in front of a judge will take 
place during a specific time. 

WHAT HELP IS AVAILABLE AT NIGHT 
OR ON WEEKENDS? 
If you have been assaulted, you should contact 
your local police department immediately.  If you 
need to file for a Protection Order and the Judicial 
Center is closed, papers may be filed before a 
district justice.  If he/she believes it is necessary, 
they may issue an Emergency Protection Order.  
The Emergency Protection Order will only be 
good to the end of the next business day.  A 
petition must be filed with the Protection from 
Abuse Office early the next morning. 

DO I NEED AN ATTORNEY? 
An attorney is not required and one will not be 
provided for you.  If you wish to have an attorney 
represent you, you may contact Attorney 
Connection or Mid Penn Legal Services, whose 
information is located on the back of this 
pamphlet. 

HOW IS THE ABUSER NOTIFIED OF 
THE COURT ORDER? 
The abuser must be served with a copy of the 
Protection Order and notice of hearing.  The York 
County Sheriff’s Office will attempt service within 
the first 24 hours. 

HOW DO I GET A FINAL PROTECTION 
ORDER? 
A hearing must be set within (10) business days 
from the date you filed the petition.  You must 
come to the hearing prepared to prove that the 
abuse occurred.  The Judge will consider issuing a 
Final Order, which may be issued for up to 36 
months. 

WHAT IF THE ABUSER VIOLATES THE 
ORDER? 
You should contact the police immediately and 
report the violation.  An abuser who violates a 
Protection Order and is found guilty can face up to 
6 months imprisonment and/or a $300.00 to 
$1000.00 fine for each violation that has occurred. 

WHAT IF I WANT TO MAKE CHANGES 
TO MY FINAL ORDER PROTECTION 
ORDER? 
Even if you grant the abuser permission to contact 
you, the abuser is still subject to prosecution for 
contempt unless the Protection Order is modified 
by the Court. 

To modify a Protection Order, you must file a 
modification petition with the Protection from 
Abuse office.  

CAN I BE PROTECTED IN ANOTHER 
COUNTY OR STATE? 
Yes.  If you relocate, work, or visit relatives in 
another county or state, you should: 

1. file a certified copy of the Order with the 
civil court clerk or Prothonotary of that 
county 

2. hand deliver a certified copy to the local 
police department which covers the area 
in which you are in 

Protection Orders are registered immediately with 
the Pennsylvania State Police and NCIC. 

Protection Orders are enforceable in all fifty (50) 
states, District of Columbia, Tribal Lands, U.S. 
Territories, and the Commonwealth of Puerto 
Rico. 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE PROGRAMS 
Domestic Violence services are available in every 
county of Pennsylvania.  These agencies have legal 
advocates who may accompany you throughout 
this process, and also provide you with additional 
services. 

The following agencies are available in York 
County: 

ACCESS (York) at 1-800-262-8444 or 717-846-
5400 

Safe Home (Hanover) at 717-632-0007 

 

PROTECTION FROM ABUSE ORDERS 
You can file for a Protection from Abuse Order if 
the person who has or is trying to harm you is: 

1. your spouse or ex-spouse 
2. your current or former sexual/intimate 

partner 
3. your parent or child 
4. a certain other blood relative 

If you are seeking a Protection Order and you are a 
minor, a parent, adult household member or 
guardian must file on your behalf. 

What is Abuse? 
Under the Protection from Abuse Act, abuse is 
defined as any one of the following: 

1. attempting to, or intentionally or 
recklessly causing bodily injury, serious 
bodily injury, rape, spousal sexual assault, 
or involuntarily deviate sexual intercourse 
with or without a deadly weapon.  

2. placing another in fear of serious bodily 
injury 

3. false imprisonment, as defined under the 
crimes code and/or 

4. physical or sexually abusing a minor 
What Protection Might I Receive? 
The Court may order the abuser: 

1. to stop abusing you and/or your children 
2. to stay away from you, your residence, 

your school, and your place of 
employment 

3. to refrain from harassing and/or stalking 
you 

4. to turn any over any weapons that were 
used or threatened to be used during the 
abuse 

5. to pay you for financial losses resulting 
from the abuse 

The Court may also award you temporary custody 
of your children and may grant you temporary 
support for yourself and/or the children of the 
abuser. 



PROTECTION FROM INTIMIATION   
You can file for a Protection from Intimidation 
Order if the person who has or is trying to harm 
you is: 

1. over the age of 18 years old and 
2. the victim is under the age of 18 and 
3. there is no family, dating, intimate or 

household relationship between them 

A parent, adult household member or guardian 
must file on your behalf. 

What is Intimidation? 
Under the Protection of Victims of Sexual 
Violence or Intimidation (PSVI) Act , intimidation 
is defined as: 

Conduct committed by a person 18 years or older 
against a person under 18 years when there is no 
family, dating, intimate or household relationship 
between them, under the following statutes: 

1. harassment 
2. stalking 

What Protection Might I Receive? 
The court may order: 

1. No Contact  
2. Any other appropriate relief 
 

SEXUAL VIOLENCE PROTECTION   
You can file for a Sexual Violence Protection 
Order if there is no family, dating, intimate or 
household relation between you and the person 
who has or is trying to harm you. 

If you are seeking a Protection Order and you are a 
minor, a parent, adult household member or 
guardian must file on your behalf. 

What is Sexual Violence? 
Under the Protection of Victims of Sexual 
Violence or Intimidation (PSVI) Act , sexual 
violence is defined as: 

Sexual Violence is defined as: 

1. sexual offenses 
2. endangering the welfare of children if the 

offense involved sexual contact with the 
victim 

3. corruption of minors 
4. sexual abuse of children 
5. unlawful contact with minor 
6. sexual exploitation of children 

What Protection Might I Receive? 
The court may order: 

1. No Contact  
2. Any other appropriate relief 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

HOW CAN I FIND AN ATTORNEY? 
You may contact: 

ATTORNEY CONNECTION 
137 East Market Street 

York, PA 17401 

(717) 854-8755 

www.yorkbar.org/attorneyconnection.com 
 

 
MID PENN LEGAL SERVICES 

29 N. Queen Street 

York, PA 17403 

(717) 848-3605 

 
You may also check your yellow pages under 
“attorney” for more details. 

 

HOW DO I GET MORE INFORMATION? 
You may contact: 

PROTECTION FROM ABUSE OFFICE   
45 North George Street 

York, PA 17401 

(717) 771-9662 
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PROTECTION FROM ABUSE OFFICE 

York County Judicial Center 

45 North George Street 

York PA  17401 

Ph. (717) 771-9662 

www.yorkcountypa.gov 

 

 

Hours: 8:30 AM – 4:30 PM 

Monday - Friday 


