News

Fruit & Vegetable Vouchers Available For Seniors

The York County Area Agency on Aging, in conjunction with the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, is again offering the Senior Farmers Market Nutrition Program to eligible York County seniors.

This program provides $20 in vouchers to eligible seniors to buy fresh fruit and vegetables from participating local farm markets.

York County residents who are 60 years of age or older, and who have a 2014 total gross annual household incomeFruit1 at or below $21,590 for a single person or $29,101 for a couple, are eligible to participate.

All income is included when calculating total gross income. Proof of age and York County residency must be shown to obtain vouchers.

A Farmers Market Proxy Form, along with proof of age and residency, is required for anyone picking up vouchers for another eligible individual. The Proxy form is available at most senior centers or can be downloaded from the Forms & Documents page of the Agency on Aging’s website at www.ycaaa.org.

One individual may not pick up vouchers for more than four people.

Individuals are eligible to receive the vouchers only once per calendar year. The vouchers can be redeemed between June 1 and November 30.

Residents of nursing homes, personal care facilities or any residential setting that offer meals are ineligible to receive the vouchers.

Vouchers will be distributed at the following York County locations for as long as the supply lasts:

Prime of Life Festival
York Expo Center, Old Main, York
Tuesday, May 20 from 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Stewartstown Senior Center
26 S. Main St., Stewartstown
Thursday, May 22, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Northeastern Area Social Service Center
131 Center Street, Mt. Wolf
Friday, May 23, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

South Central Senior Center
150 East Main Street, New Freedom
Tuesday, May 27, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Dillsburg Senior Activity Center, Inc.
1 North Second Street, Dillsburg
Thursday, May 29, 9:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Susquehanna Senior Center
2427 Craley Road, Lower Windsor Township
Tuesday, June 3, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Windy Hill on the Campus Senior Center
1472 Roth’s Church Road, Suite 103, Spring Grove
Wednesday, June 4, 9:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Heritage Senior Center
3700 Davidsburg Road, Dover Township
Thursday, June 5, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Red Land Senior Center
736 Wyndamere Road, Newberry Township
Thursday, June 6, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

White Rose Senior Center
27 South Broad Street, York
Tuesday, June 10, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Delta Area Senior Center
5 Pendyrus Street, Suite 1, Peach Bottom Township
Thursday, June 12, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Hanover Council of Churches
136 Carlisle Street, Hanover
Tuesday, July 8, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Red Lion Area Senior Center
20-C Gotham Place, York Township
Thursday, July 10, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

White Rose Senior Center
27 South Broad Street, York
Tuesday, July 15, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Hanover Hospital Wellness & Education Center
(Updated change in location)
400 York St., Hanover
Thursday, July 17, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Brown’s Orchards & Farm Market
8892 Susquehanna Trail South, Springfield Township
Tuesday, July 22, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Flinchbaugh’s Orchards
100 Ducktown Road, York
Wednesday, July 23, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Yorktown Senior Center
509 Pacific Ave., York
Tuesday, July 29, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Red Lion Area Senior Center
20-C Gotham Place, York Township
Thursday, July 31, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Anyone requiring further information should contact the York County Area Agency on Aging at (717) 771-9610.

 

Communications Office » In This Section