History of Office Holders

York County was part of Chester County until May 19, 1729, when York became part of Lancaster County. York remained part of Lancaster County until August 19, 1749, when York County was formally created.

The will of Daniel Johnson of Chanceford Township was the first to be probated (on Oct. 24, 1749) in the newly formed County.

The first Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans' Court of York County was George Stevenson, who was born in Dublin, Ireland in 1718. At the time of his service, Stevenson was a prominent landowner who wielded significant political influence.

The Register of Wills was appointed by the General Assembly until 1790. From 1790 to 1839, appointments were made by the Governor of Pennsylvania.

On Oct. 11, 1839, John Stahle became the first elected Register of Wills.



George Stevenson1749
Samuel Johnston1764
Archibald McLean1777
Jacob Barnitz1785
Jacob B. Wentz1824
Frederick Eichelberger1829
William P Fisher1830
Jesse Spangler1830
Michael Doudel1833
James R. Reilly1836


John Stahle1839
David Bender1845
Jacob Glessner1848
George Maish1851
William Davis1854
Abraham Hershey1857
Amos Shearer1860
William Philby1863
Jacob Stickle1866
George Bollinger1869
John Giesey1872
Christian S. Gerber (Died in office)1875
James Kell (Appointed)1877
John S. Hiestand1877
Oliver Stuck1880
Henry W. Bowman1883
William Thompson1886
Edward Stuck1889
David Witmer1892
John H. Wambaugh1895
Philip J. Barnhart1898
Z.C. Myers1901
Christian T. Grove1904
Milton J. Herbert1908
Henry Hohler1912
Edward Bupp1916
Samuel Meisenhelder1920
Jacob D. Markle1924
Paul R. Schweitzer1928
William A. Schweitzer (Acting)
J. Frank Lindenmuth (Appointed)
William A. Schweitzer1932
G. Frank Lindenmuth1936
Donald Waltman1940
Edward G. Ruff1944
Claude P. Young1948
Iidris R. Jones1952
Charles E. Gross1956
B.A. Wagner1960
James G. Morgan1964
Stephen E. Anderson1972
Heather L. Dorion1980
William J. Walters1984
Bradley C. Jacobs2000
Bryan K. Tate2020